We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sums up the aquatic life of Minnesota with a few added extras.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Aquarium

Great Lakes Aquarium
Ranked #20 of 94 things to do in Duluth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only aquarium in the U.S. that focuses on freshwater exhibits, this three-story waterfront structure is ready for public viewing after a year and a half and almost $34 million. Plenty of interactive exhibits and re-created habitats are fun and educational for children.
Eveleth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sums up the aquatic life of Minnesota with a few added extras.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My entire family enjoyed this trip as this was our first time visiting this aquarium. The staff is very helpful and the exhibits are worth a look at least once. My children 5 and 8 really liked being able to lower the underwater camera into the big tank. Overall if you've never been here and are interested in Minnesota history and fish this is worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    105
    77
    42
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice when travelling with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went here with our 2 year old. She was so excited by all the fish and we were there on the day that the volunteer divers were cleaning the tanks which made for a more exciting visit. The exhibit showing the great lakes locks was great for her to do some water play. She could not get enough. Price is a little steep for the size but with a stay at some of the hotels you can get a price break. We stayed at Edgewater and our ticket price was $11 instead of $16.50

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jfenner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Earth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Improvements making it better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've been here three times and it seems like they are working towards making it better each time. It's expensive but we usually get discount passes somewhere and then walk from our hotel to save on the cost. You can no longer feed the fish in the big tank, but there was probably good reason for it. Give it a try but don't expect large tanks that you walk through. My 3 1/2 year old LOVES the treehouse area and the water area with the boats.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheHaases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ehh..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

First off, it was VERY overpriced. $16.50 for an adult?? I was told we could feed stingrays but that didn't happen. I wish I had known it was only freshwater fish before I went. It was more of an educational thing than an aquarium. The gift shop was a huge disappointment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabbielynn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,591 reviews
1,080 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,270 helpful votes
“Is the only issue the cost?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are seniors and spend more than the admission price on a bad lunch at times, so no big deal. I do think there should be a family rate that caps the cost because young families are not going to spend 60+ dollars for this Aquarium. We went late in the day because we wanted to see the Aerial Bridge by night as well as the Canal Park area. The exhibits are kid friendly and children will enjoy the touch and feel parts. Adults will not be as excited about the place. It needs an infusion of financial support from some good fund raising so the costs can be lowered. They are high because the place can't make it on its own. Too bad I do not see a bright future for this Aquarium.
The Canal Park is free and has more to appeal to families...go at night it is beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Lakes Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing