We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for families”

Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad
Ranked #47 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun for families”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The trains are reasonably priced and comfortable. A 90 minute trip was just right - fun to see and learn more about the city. Kids will adore taking a "real" train ride!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenzielarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
duluth, mn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best train ride in town!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The scenery is awesome! River views are incredible, lots of wildlife, they tell the history of the riverfront. I recommend this to all people coming to Duluth - locals too!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank super8duluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable train ride”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

It's definatly not high speed rail, but the leisure pace and the river Scenery made for a relaxing ride.

Helpful?
Thank hookertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant ride”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We rode in an open car on a beautiful sunny day. The train runs only on Sat and Sun mid June thru Mid October so times to ride are limited. Train departs at 10:30 and 1:30. It is a great ride however. The whole operation is run by volunteers. One of the guys took the young kids into the locomotive before the ride to see the engine and look out the window and to provide a picture opportunity for the parents. Since there is road construction in Duluth this year, there were detailed directions to the train. However, we missed our turn and went back to it. It is not well marked. There is just a small building where you buy the tickets. They are hoping to raise money to build a larger building. No restrooms there before you board but there are two restrooms on board.
Great ride--very scenic and it was a narrated ride. Just water available for purchase.
They did sell a couple items on board the ride.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank tdf531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Authentic Train Ride and Experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We rode on the Sunday 10:30 am train ride. We used a Buy One Get One Free admission coupon, and kids 3 and under are free. The train is amazing...and very authentic looking. This was more of an "Experience" to me than just a scenic train ride. This is an all volunteer historic attraction, and while this is visually evident by the aging ticket booth counter and poorly maintained parking lot, it only makes me appreciate it more. "All aboard" was called, and the uniformed volunteers took our boarding pass and away we went. The very back portion of the train was a flat bed car with benches, and was open top. I spent most of the ride here getting excellent pictures. I did take the time to sit in, relax, and enjoy the completely original interior of the train cars. The one attached to the back was a "smoking or cigar car"- used in the past for men to gather and smoke etc. after meals. The next two cars are for passenger seating. The seats could configure so that you sit normally in rows facing forward, or you arrange the seats so that 4 people can face each other. Everything is completely original too, so it was fun observing the details of the equipment. The scenery and views are just ok...the weather that day was overcast and did not help out much either. I have not been on the North Shore Scenic Railroad, but I imagine the "sights" are better on that, and that this one is more of a "living museum." Near the end of the trip, the train personnel walk through the aisles and offer different items for purchase at a very passive no pressure kind of way. We bought our son a wooden pine train whistle for $4.00, it sounds nice (and isn't that annoying)! This was a very good experience overall. I appreciate the volunteer efforts to entertain and educate the public.

Helpful?
7 Thank MNRiverValleyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing