We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pet-Friendly"......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"Pet-Friendly"......”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent the night for a Golden Gloves boxing card and brought our Lab. I had reserved what the Holiday Inn calls a "pet-friendly" room. It was conveniently located near the stairwell on the 2nd floor. Being a pet room is always a concern because of pet oders. Our room was clean and exceptionally comfortable. I would have doubted any pet had ever stayed in there. The room smelled clean and fresh. Even the dog didn't seem to be overwhelmed by previous smells. The room had a refridgerator and a microwave. both looked very new. The service was excellent as usual and the lounge was busy with boxers and their families enjoying the post-fight music. We had a great stay and highly recommend this holiday inn on the Lake to everyone!

Room Tip: The north side of the Inn faces a very busy train track just across the highway. The volume of each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmyloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your very positive feedback and I'm very happy you and your "best friend" enjoyed your time at our Hotel. I will also share your comments with our housekeeping staff to let them know they are doing a great job.

We will be hosting another Golden Gloves event next year so keep an eye on our Facebook page for details.

I personally appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to your return soon.

Respectfully,

Douglas Anselmin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    52
    21
    12
    11
See reviews for
67
54
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Willmar, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was not a planned stay so just went to find a room for a couple nights. Easy check in. Room was nice and well furnished with refrigerator, microwave, tv, table and 2 queen beds. Room overlooked pool area. The second night the pool area was a bit noisy. The value of this stay would have been higher if some bype of breakfast had been offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FARGO
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Their rooms are large and equipped with a fridge and microwave, which was nice. Nice, large flat-screen TV, too. The room was clean and well-maintained. Every interaction we had with their employees, from check-in to the maid service, was pleasant and professional. The pool area was nice, with something for everyone, although both the main pool and the jacuzzi seemed small for this size of a hotel. The trains didn't bother us at all; in fact, we kind of enjoyed them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAREN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had planned a pool weekend with the family. We were called during the week and we were told the pool would be closed from 5 to 7 Saturday night for maintenance. Thought it was odd to do maintenance on a Saturday night, But we already had our plans and thought we would just work around it. Saturday afternoon they put signs up saying pool will be closed because of a wedding reception. This made us very upset why not be honest and why shut the pool down for guest who paid for there rooms just to have a weeding reception. Will never stay here again. The rooms have been updated but the bathrooms have not and need to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbraseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear jbraseth,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff which was unacceptable. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

First time here, and I was very impressed with the staff. Everyone was friendly, courteous and went the extra mile wherever possible. Our room and all facilities were clean and functional, and there were some good options offered with room rates and packages.

The hotel recently underwent major renovations (in 2012, I believe), but somehow failed to address the cheap, double-pane windows, so in bad weather the outside wall got very wet, even dripping a bit onto the floor. It wasn't a major issue, but didn't look very good and was definitely disappointing.

Room Tip: Because of the poor windows, a poolside, inner room would probably be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here overnight in January on business. The room was clean and the food was decent. I wish I would have been told at check-in that my room was on the train tracks side of the hotel. Hard to sleep with a train every 20 minutes. The hotel was far from booked full, so I find it odd that they would put people on this side and not the opposite side so one could get a peaceful nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addison09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear addison09,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I appreciate the compliments on our clean rooms and food options served during your stay. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise level and room allocation. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

While I understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

New with Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, MN Could not believe experience. Had questions with places
in or near Detroit Lakes, went to couple bars and found my experience back at Holiday was best.
People, food and rooms were Highest of Quality. On the Lake One stop Fun!!

Room Tip: Ask for Sales Staff, very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn on the Lake.
We continue to make improvements to our hotel as well as with our staff to provide our customers with the best hotel experience possible.

I personally appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to your return soon.

Respectfully,
Doug Anselmin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#8 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
24.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland House
Best Western Plus Holland House
#2 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Property: Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Address: 1155 Highway 10 E, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-4215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the north shore of beautiful Big Detroit Lake. The hotel has one hundred and three sleeping rooms. There is a seven hundred foot stretch of sandy beach and free docking facilities available for our summertime guests to enjoy. We are adjacent to miles of beautifully groomed snowmobile and cross-country ski trails. Our indoor recreation center offers a swimming pool, whirlpool, Sauna, video arcade and fitness center. Our outdoor amenities include children's playground, picnic area, bicycles, kayaks, canoes and paddleboats. We also offer pontoons and fishing boats for rent at our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes Hotel Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing