We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit Lakes, United States
1 review
“Good Value, Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nice rooms, door opening inside hall and to the outside, unusual but cool. Very nice pool with waterslide my kids loved. The lady who checked us in was the most friendly and helpful I have run into in some time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    72
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
130
61
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

My stay at the Holland House was wonderful. The room was very clean and quiet. I liked all of the pillows that were provided as they gave me a good choice of pillow combinations. Breakfast the next morning was very good and it was nice that I could choose from different hot items and rolls.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I enjoyed my stay for one night of a business trip. The front desk young lady was cordial and helpful as I filled out the hotel registration form. Using a company car, I needed to go outside and recheck the plate number. She waited patiently for me to finish. I enjoyed the morning breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Needed a quick layover, and the Best Western fit the bill. Nice and quiet area, and the room was the same. Exceptionally clean, nothing going bump in the night.
Breakfast looked great, but no time to partake other than coffee.
Look forward to returning to Detroit Lakes and staying here again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I liked the room set up, the cleanliness, the friendly staff, and the breakfast; but they didn't get 5 stars because the price was still fairly high, and the pool was closed for renovations.
We understood the water slides were only open on weekends, but we didn't expect a sudden pool closing upon our arrival. To make up for it, they gave us a discount. We accepted it although we were looking forward to a swim after traveling.
We chose a pool side, upstairs room, just to avoid a pet room. It was worth it. Room was very tidy and didn't smell like some pet hotels do.
Breakfast was very good, with much variety and a good seating area.
Would stay here again alone or with family.

Room Tip: Don't like pet dander or smell, ask for an upstairs, pool side room that is PET FREE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orangenkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was very happy with my stay at this hotel. The room and hotel was very clean, the morning breakfast was very good, and the staff were very welcoming. I would recommend people stay here. The free in-room WIFI was fast and just what I needed to get my work done.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is where we usually stay and it was just as wonderful this time as the last time. This is the first time we stayed in the bunk bed room and we loved it and the kids loved it. We ended up bringing a side rail for our youngest on the bottom bunk and it fit perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#6 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
24.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
19.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
Address: 615 Highway 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Holland House Hotel Detroit Lakes
Best Western Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Best Western
Best Western Holland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing