We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ish not gonna see if third time is a charm”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #31 of 51 Restaurants in Detroit Lakes
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ish not gonna see if third time is a charm”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I thought I'd give them a second chance even though it was bad a year ago. Both times service was incredibly slow ... Took almost 20 minutes to get coffee. When the food came ... My pancake plate had griddle grease on it. Yum. My fruit was rock hard (underripe) and tasted like DIRT! The icing on the cake .... Filthy bathrooms. There was a thick layer of dust on the handrails inside the stall. I'm scared of what the kitchen looks like if they can't be bothered to clean the restrooms. I WILL NEVER EAT HERE AGAIN

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust1980ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not just your average Perkins”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We've all been to Perkins.....right? This place greets you with sincere friendly service the second you walk in. They don't over do it but treat you polite and calm. The food is always good and quick even when it's real busy. Like many places, the prices have gone up. They do try to push promotions a little hard. It's in a great location right of hwys 59 and 10. The breakfasts are bomb anytime of day and they get you in and out at the pace you need. We always go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timmyloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slow...for no real reason”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped at Perkins on our way through because there was a mixed crowd in the party. It was after 1 pm, the typical lunch rush on a Friday so we thought it would be a good time. We waited at the host station for about five minutes before we were seated, and this was the theme for the meal. Slow at taking our orders, slow on refills, slow on food. I would be understanding if the restaurant was busy, but it wasn't. I'm not sure if they cut staff too soon or what.
Despite the slow service our server was very friendly and the food was good, Perkins has the best pancakes in, in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perkins”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We met some family members for breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpfull. The place was very busy and they told us it might take a while for our food. The food came in a timely manner. We were not rushed and was able to visit as long as we wanted.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IowaCubsfan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow Service, ran out of waffle mix”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ate there this past Sunday - It took 20 minutes to get coffee, never did get the water we asked for. One person ordered waffles. There were 6 people in our part. 3 received their meals and then they told us they were out of waffle mix, so needed to order something else. The other 3 received their food when the first 3 were just about done with their meals. I ordered bacon and received the smallest, thinnest slices of bacon ever. Eat at George and Becky's Cafe - much better food, great service and really good prices. Unfortunately, they are not open on Sundays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CjeanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkins Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

Detroit Lakes, MN
Detroit Lakes, MN
 

Been to Perkins Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing