We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The stay was great and relaxing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They had everything ready for us when we arrived so we didn't have to wait for them to find a room that was vacant. Would definitely stay again and the staff there should train the staff at some of the other Best Western locations

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 505 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've stayed here four times. Staff and facilities are great. I've done winter, fall, spring, and now summer. Summer is the best. There is a great restaurant called fireside about a quarter mile away. I need 200 characters so banana banana banana

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a nice quiet get away and found this place. What a treasure! The SPA services are top notch and very reasonable priced. The rooms are large with extremely comfortable beds. We happened to stay when the hotel was full and I can tell you that it didn't seem full of people at all. The lay out and decor of the hotel lends itself well to not only a family retreat but a couples one as well and offers plenty of space to enjoy either. The private decks are nice and the view is unbelievable. We are definately going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The best place to stay in Detroit Lakes you will be very very pleased with the fact that the lodge has 90 percent of the ammenitys of a five star hotel and also many special events during each month. There are also plenty of activities in the surrounding area that are familly freindly which can keep your familly active. The weather is spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very nice hotel right on its own beach. We had a room on beach level and our patio doors open up to it. Very nice. I think we paid $170/night over Memorial Weekend. Sounds like a lot, but you get a lot--including a great breakfast. Lot of options for varying diets/nutritional needs. If you think about the time and expense of bringing your family out to breakfast (depending on how many) we figured it balanced out at $170. If you like to run/bike outside, the hotel is also right off of a bike/running path that heads towards the main beach on Detroit Lake. If you go all the way around the lake (using the shoulder of the roads too) back to the hotel its a 10 mile loop. Great place to stay. The only con is that the price fluctuates and the next time we wanted to book there (mid August 2014) they were requiring a 3 night stay minimum at $210 and up each night. That's a bit much.

Room Tip: Request beach level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermariocycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

All rooms have walkout access or balconies facing the lake. A number of things contributed to make our stay a pleasant one. For starters, our third floor king was exactly as we had reserved. The room was spacious, with a nice sized bathroom and glass-enclosed shower. There were a number of amenities including hair dryer, refrigerator, microwave, generous counter space etc. Quiet, lake facing rooms, a comfortable bed, light blocking draperies, and effective temperature control all contributed to a good night's sleep. Either direction from the hotel are walking paths and roads running along the lake past interesting homes and gardens.
There are a few things that would make this an even more enjoyable stay, including: a selection of yogurts and prepared oatmeal at the breakfast, more towel racks in the bathroom, and a larger quantity of complimentary newspapers.
We will definitely return to this hotel on a future visit to DL.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Lodge on Lake Detroit is probably the nicest hotel in DL. The rooms are always spic and span and the grounds are the same. The staff is always so friendly and helpful we keep going back year after year. Our family uses it for a reunion site and we always have a great time staying there. There is a nice breakfast room where you can have your fill of waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, caramel rolls etc. This is included in the price and you won't go away hungry. I can't wait until we go back again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ingeborgdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#3 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Lakes
1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#8 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
27 reviews
18.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland House
Best Western Plus Holland House
#2 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit

Address: 1200 E Shore Dr, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-4727 (Formerly The Lodge on Lake Detroit)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Price Range: $125 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Lodge On Lake Detroit Hotel Detroit Lakes
Hotel On Lake Detroit
On Lake Detroit Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing