We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful fall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent the night at the Best Western Premier "The Lodge on Lake Detroit". We spent the day at Maplewood State Park enjoying the leaves and then came to this beautiful motel. The check-in experience was great. The room was very clean. We had a balcony room overlooking the lake and watched a gorgeous sunset. The room had all the amenities that we needed. We had a drink in the lounge and enjoyed the outdoor deck. Best yet, we got the room for free with the Best Western summer promotion. We would go back to this motel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroljf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 495 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were SO IMPRESSED with Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit! It was more than we could even imagine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our lake side room had a beautiful view of Detroit Lake and the natural surrounding landscape with outstanding colors of fall foliage! Loved the clean and spacious room and bathroom with cozy decor! The beds were SO comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was the BEST we have ever experienced at a hotel stay! "The Spa Within" was a bonus feature of the outstanding lodging experience! With the sandy beach front, paddle boat, a quaint downtown, local dining and golfing this was a trip we will remember for many years! We would love to return to vacation at Detroit Lakes and would definitely choose to stay at The Lodge again.

Room Tip: Third floor room had a beautiful view of Detroit Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi090912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

our only regret was that we didnt come earlier in the year. was absolutley stunning. clean emaculate, views emaculate, staff and service superb,the bed and pillows like heaven, the sunset beautiful,cant waite to go back, may not be able to wait till next summer, may have to take a winter trip and get the room with the fire place and jaquzzi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleygirl8924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

First of all this hotel is gorgeous. It is also filled with great, friendly staff. Each room is lake front which is amazing. We were on the 3rd floor so our view was great. There is an elevator so it's not a big deal to get up there. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms are super clean, and the bathroom is beautiful. I have never been so impressed by a hotel bathroom before. Our room was quiet, the room next door had 3 young kids and we couldn't hear them at all. The beds are really comfortable. I was sad to leave and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I would go with a 3rd floor room to have a great view or a main floor room to have easy access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sniffdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Room was immaculate.the view from our balcony was breath taking. It was quiet,cozy,and relaxing. The staff was very helpful with suggestions on sites to see and restaurants to eat at.we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Started out with a friendly check in. Got to the room and it was amazing! Sparking clean and great decorating. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Balcony with a great view of the lake. Many special touches like under the sink night lights in the bathroom. Outstanding breakfast with lots of choices. Especially liked the strawberry and cherry sauces, home made mueslix, and egg bake. They also had paddle boats and kyaks available for use. We wished we could stay longer than one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently picked this property for our family gathering celebrating our parent's 50th wedding anniversary. It was absolutely perfect. My mother grew up on the lake and her only wish was to have this gathering where she could watch the sunsets on the water. She was not disappointed! Even though we booked on a busy weekend (there was a wedding there the first night we arrived) the group coordinator was just great to deal with in getting us the sleeping arrangements we needed + gathering space for visiting family living nearby, with the rooms they had left. We used a Retreat Suite that walked out to the lake for our family space which worked great because we could make meals in the room and use eating space both inside and outside by using the hotel picnic tables on the grassy lawn. The suite doubled as a sleeping space with the pull down murphy bed. We also utilized their Family Suites (with 2-rooms each) which also had nice sized kitchens and plenty of sleeping space. Rooms were pristine and very comfortable. We felt like we had the comforts of home but yet individual space to get away to (which is needed with most family gatherings!). The teens and 20-somethings loved gathering at the firepit at night and using the hot tub in the pool area. Because The Lodge has its own dock and boat slips, we also brought a speed boat for recreation. Although the weather was a little too cool for swimming the younger kids were able to get some tubing in. We had a very memorable and fantastic experience - thanks to the attentive staff and wonderful accommodations at The Lodge. We are already planning to book for next year:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ_HiNote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#3 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
246 reviews
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#8 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
27 reviews
18.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland House
Best Western Plus Holland House
#2 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit

Address: 1200 E Shore Dr, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501 (Formerly The Lodge on Lake Detroit)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Detroit Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit Lakes
Price Range: $119 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Lodge On Lake Detroit Hotel Detroit Lakes
Hotel On Lake Detroit
On Lake Detroit Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing