We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for Sunday brunch, but skip the rest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ice House Restaurant

Ice House Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 50 Restaurants in Detroit Lakes
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go for Sunday brunch, but skip the rest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've eaten here several times over the years, never impressed (sometimes quite disappointed) with the food. The one exception being the Sunday brunch buffet. That is the only time I'd recommend dining here. Occasionally go for a drink on the weekend, usually not anything too spectacular.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zaydaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have enjoyed Sunday Brunch here several times. They have a breakfast brunch and a lunch brunch on Sundays. Other days of the week they have a good salad bar with several selections of toppings and there is also cheese,crackers, bread, meatballs and soups to enjoy. The dining room/bar overlooks the lake so it is a pretty view. There bar adjoins the restaurant with a sliding door between. It is located in the Holiday Inn hotel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Idano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FARGO
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The restaurant itself and atmosphere were beautiful, but the food was so-so and our waitress wasn't very attentive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAREN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We came here twice for breakfast, and it was great both times. The Sunday breakfast buffet had an ample selection of standard American breakfast fare, including bacon, eggs, biscuits & gravy, quiche, miniature waffles, etc, but also featured a huge omelette bar with at least six omelettes being made at a time. We were also very satisfied with the breakfast ordered from the menu. The coffee was great, and they even let you take some with you when you go in a paper cup for no extra charge.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

the food is amazing!! great wine list. I had the pork porterhouse and my boyfriend had the garlic steak! awesome.. good side choices cheesy hash browns are really good! salad bar is awesome! not very expensive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ice House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing