We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just like home!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this family owned hotel. It was very clean and homey. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered was ample with french toast, waffles, cereal, yogurt,danish rolls,and etc...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the honest and positive feedback, Sylvia! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and happy to hear that our front desk and housekeeping staff's efforts are creating an atmosphere that is bringing you back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
14
13
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here on our way across country. The front staff person was most welcoming and accommodating for our needs. Had two dogs who seemed to be ecstatic over the room?? I think they were tired of our truck camper. They could use a little less air freshener, but everything very clean, and the bed was quite comfortable. They were also very pleasant about sending me something I left there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about our facility. We are pleased that our staff was helpful both during and after your stay and hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The reservation was under a friends name. When we got there our friends weren't there so I went to the front desk to get a key. It was given to me no questions asked. Great security!

This is a pet friendly place... so guessing the carpets have accidents on them... ish.

The rooms are small and dark. The bathrooms are super small and you feel gross being in them.

The beds are small and VERY uncomfortable.

They do have free internet. They do have continental breakfast.

I immediately took a long shower when I got home!

The nightly rate was $155.00. This is absurd in the small town of Detroit Lakes. I could see if you were on the water but we were by Perkins... not near the water at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feelings on our facility. In the future, please bring your concerns to our staff's attention right away so we may work with you to come to a satisfactory resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a wonderful overnite stay here. The room was clean, bed was comfortable,the breakfast was good and service was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was very quiet being that it is close to the highway and had easy access and was easy to find. We will stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: resturant and gas right next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at our facility. We are excited to hear that we met and exceeded all your expectations and needs while staying with us! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at your Motel. The desk clerk was very pleasant and friendly. It was also very quiet, clean, just all around pleasant. Thank you, we will tell are friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with your experience here and do appreciate the referrals to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, SD
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times for business travel in the area. The staff is always friendly and they always have the breakfast. It is by no means a 5 star hotel, but the rooms are cheap and it works for an overnight trip. The beds are a little hard, but not intolerable. There are resteraunts very close by & it is right off the highway so its easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our facility. We are pleased to hear you are happy with your experience and that you are a repeat customer! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

For the price this hotel was especially nice. The only problem I had was the after the first day our kleenex had run out and was not replaced and we did not get more coffee for the pot in the room for the second morning. Overall it was a great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate all information and strive to improve our performance to make future stays better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
1.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#8 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
23 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
213 reviews
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
22.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
21.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 400 Morrow Ave, Hwy 10 & US 59, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-2212
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing