We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bang for you buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Kilkenny
1 review
“bang for you buck”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a wonderful overnite stay here. The room was clean, bed was comfortable,the breakfast was good and service was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was very quiet being that it is close to the highway and had easy access and was easy to find. We will stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: resturant and gas right next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at our facility. We are excited to hear that we met and exceeded all your expectations and needs while staying with us! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
13
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at your Motel. The desk clerk was very pleasant and friendly. It was also very quiet, clean, just all around pleasant. Thank you, we will tell are friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with your experience here and do appreciate the referrals to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, SD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times for business travel in the area. The staff is always friendly and they always have the breakfast. It is by no means a 5 star hotel, but the rooms are cheap and it works for an overnight trip. The beds are a little hard, but not intolerable. There are resteraunts very close by & it is right off the highway so its easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our facility. We are pleased to hear you are happy with your experience and that you are a repeat customer! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

For the price this hotel was especially nice. The only problem I had was the after the first day our kleenex had run out and was not replaced and we did not get more coffee for the pot in the room for the second morning. Overall it was a great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate all information and strive to improve our performance to make future stays better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Looked at web site they show this big king room. Ended up a closet, small worn towels, stained tub, shower curtain on backwards. Nice breakfast, nice staff

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maudie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Il
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were here 2 nights beginning July 4. Room was clean, breakfast good and internet worked well - what more can you ask?
The night we arrived severe storms were coming in. I asked the clerk about where to go in the event of a tornado - she quickly replied that the interior hallway of first floor was the place. I was impressed that there was a plan.
We had a flat tire with our rental car after checking out but they let me use their phone to call the rental place long distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

If you're looking for a clean hotel to crash for a day or three, then this will suit you fine. It's just your basic, basic bare bones hotel. No pool or anything like that just a room, TV and beds. There is a basic continental breakfast with waffles and muffins, which is the best feature.

So if you are just in the area and won't be at your hotel much and are looking for cheap lodging, this will get it done. I've been here several times and the rooms have always been clean. Note, this used to be a "Super 8" hotel and is very much still that same sort of hotel. However, it's hared to beat $50 per night these days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcrow24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#6 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland House
Best Western Plus Holland House
#2 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
21.3 mi away
Super 8 Perham
Super 8 Perham
#2 of 2 in Perham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 400 Morrow Ave, Hwy 10 & US 59, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-2212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing