We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Lake View”
Review of The Fireside

The Fireside
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fireside is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $40
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spectacular Lake View”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

One of the most enjoyable experiences of summer is having dinner with family while watching the sun set over a Minnesota lake, and the view from the Fireside dining room is one of the best anywhere, and worth returning for time and again. That the supper-club fare at this long-time fixture of the DL restaurant scene is decent but uneven, and prices a bit high-end, is further testament to the drawing power of the location, perched high above the lake shore.
Our service was friendly and attentive.
Here is my prescription for a pleasant experience at the Fireside: make your selections carefully [the walleye and steaks were first rate]; manage your expectations [this is not a major metro foodie experience]; and be sure to take in enough of the view and ambiance to last until you return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    34
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sunsets and Staff are first class!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Fireside Restaurant on Detroit Lake has been there for years! It overlooks Big Detroit Lake and has spectacular sunsets! The staff is the best, so attentive and fun! The food has been okay, and this last time was probably their best yet. They are working hard to improve the menu, but foodies are still looking for a little something unique or extra. Pricing seems fair to me. All around a solid quality meal with a great wine list to boot! The last few time I have been there it has been very busy, and they now take reservations - nice!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
417 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great view and food, expensive”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We ate when they opened (5pm) so not crowded. Ate on the patio which is screened and lovely view (as does restaurant). Had pork chop and rack of lamb. Excellent and tasty. Finished off with Chocolate Sin Tart (Ohhh so nummy). Bill for 2 was over $100.00, but it was a delightful evening. They must have a decent kids menu since there were several families with little ones there. Nothing against kids - but when I pay that much for a meal, would just as soon avoid the hubbub.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing :(”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Had the lamb and it was terrible. Not sure what the side dish was and the server couldn't tell me either. My daughter had the steak and scallop combo and it was quite bland. My husband was not happy with his ribs either. I am a foodie so I do have high expectations. But for $200, we should have gotten excellent food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriB142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Been going here for many many years and it is consistently fabulous. Never had a bad meal. Overlooks Big Detroit Lake and the sunsets make this restaurant very romantic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fireside also viewed

Detroit Lakes, MN
 

Been to The Fireside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing