We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santantao Art Resort
Nearby Hotels
Residencial Alto Fortim(Mindelo)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Residencial Ponta do Sol(Ribeira Grande)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mindel Hotel(Mindelo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tiduca(Ponta Do Sol)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
36
94
36
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
94
36
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsmall shoprelaxing stayrooms are spaciousnice hotelisland tourbalconyportonovowifipaintingsdinnercapewindluxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 182 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Rooms and bathroom are nice and clean. The beds are really small, but comfortable. The airco works really well and it was nice to have a large balcony.

Although potentially this hotel could be a nice location to stay in, this is completely spoiled by the entertainment team. They walked around with attitudes, took over the breakfast- and dinner buffet as though they owned the place and didn’t really seem to be all that busy. Each night the party started at 21:30 till late. Loud music, karaoke, screaming through mics etc. It was all aimed at the French tourists. Announcements were done in French and people were approached in French. The team seemed surprised if you answered back in English. It’s however a great way to get them out of your way……

From all hotels we booked during our stay in Santa Antao we had great expectation of this one, but due to the entertainment team these expectations were not met unfortunately. What a shame, cause the local staff really tries there best!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Santo Antão island is one of the remoter places in the world, and this Italian-owned hotel does an excellent job of running a first-class operation under the resulting circumstances, which are challenging. I stayed there in 2009 and returned for a five-day stay in April of 2012. I wasn't disappointed either time.

The rooms are excellent—well-appointed, clean, bright, and airy. The bed was better than my overpriced designer bed here in California. The grounds are extensive and the swimming pool large and reasonably warm. The water was hot and my air-conditioner worked well. Breakfast is included and was good. If you decide on half-board, you get dinner too. Unlike in 2009, it's now served buffet style. The television carries the BBC, CNN, and I think TV5 Monde.

In addition, at about 7000 escudos (about €60 or $75) a night for high-quality accommodation, the Santantão Art Resort may be the best deal on any of Cape Verde's islands. Interestingly, some of my fellow passengers on the ferry from Mindelo to Santo Antão island didn't want to spend that much. But I know that just to save perhaps 3000 escudos a night, you can end up in a non-air-conditioned room with mosquitoes for company, 25-watt light bulbs, and a lumpy thin mattress. I've experienced that myself. Not worth it!

My only complaints are these: (1) the sheets weren't changed the whole five days I was there (I didn't request it) and (2) you have to pay 300 escudos to drink anything at dinner, even water. I'm not sure the rooms have wi-fi access, and the hotel's public Internet computer has the same stiff and worn keyboard that it had in 2009. It's an Italian keyboard configured for typing in Portuguese, so good luck! The hotel charges 440 escudos an hour (€4 or about $5) to use it. The cybercafés in Porto Novo or Ribeira Grande are a better deal.

If you're looking for some kind of all-inclusive Club Med-style resort, there's no point in going to Santo Antão or any of the Cape Verde islands except Sal and maybe Boa Vista, where you can sit around on a beach and be cosseted by staff.

Be aware that Porto Novo, the nearby town, has little of interest. You'll want to rent a car (the hotel can arrange this) to get to Santo Antão's magnificent hiking. At about 5500 escudos (€50 or about $60) a day, renting a car is a lot better than dealing with the often dishonest and conniving taxi drivers or trying to coordinate your hiking with the vagaries of the aluguer (collective private transport vehicle) system.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mtnbiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

In Santo Antao decent hotels for european standards are hard to find.
This hotel is very average but the only one in Porto Novo, which is
not an interesting place to stay anyway. Better stay in Ponta do Sol
or Paul. Rooms are ok, breakfast buffet very average and you pay extra
for eggs. Internet is not free. Pool very average and the hotel
premises not well maintained at all. It is a resort of the style
'entertainment', therefore noisy with music and with very incompetent
'animateurs'. The rocky beach is not at all beautiful neither accessible because of strong waves and wind. I should not recommend this place at all, unless you need to experience a certain confort after having spent some days in local B&Bs and residenciales!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fanytag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed four nights in this very attractive hotel with its nice gardens and good swimming pool. We asked for a superior room and it was large and comfortable with a good size bathroom with bath and balcony. The restaurant was average and rather geared to French groups on all inclusive deals. We found a nice little Italian restaurant in the small town of Port Novo to compensate. The staff were helpful but didn't speak much English. The big downside was continuous loud music played by the young entertainment staff (for the French tourists) which blasted over the pool and garden all day and evening until at least 10.30 at night. A pity, it spoiled what was otherwise a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room, they don't cost that much more
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynDalkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were told we were lucky that the pool is not empty. It might be because we were there off-season, but the hotel was pretty empty, and seems to be over-dimensioned. The breakfast is not one that we will remember for its quality. The room was clean, spacious and with A/C. Overall the atmosphere was a bit depressing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews