We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good evening at the Black Swan”

The Black Swan Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A charming English pub with its very own wildflower duck pond, situated in the pretty village of Hollins Green, in the area of Rixton with Glazebrook, The Black Swan Pub is nestled in a perfect setting for all its visitors. With a friendly atmosphere, fine food, new top spec venue rooms and comfortable boutique bedrooms, The Black Swan is a great place to dine, drink and dream. The Black Swan is ideally located for business meetings, business lunches and parties, with free Wi-Fi, conference facilities, and easy access to both Northbank Industrial Estate and transport links to the City Centre. The 14 beautifully furnished bedrooms make the pub a great choice for a weekend stay with easy access to the Trafford Centre, Football Stadiums, Salford Reds Stadium, both Salford and Manchester City Centres, Gulliver's World and as several racecourses. But if you don’t want to go anywhere, you can relax in the beer garden, feed the ducks or go for a walk around the local area and spend your evening being entertained in the pub.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good evening at the Black Swan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

A party of 14 of us enjoyed a lovely evening at the Black Swan, the staff were very helpful and courtious when we arrived it was pre booked and our table was ready and set out with flowers on the table.
All of our party said that the food was delicious, well cooked,well presented and value for money, the young girls who served us were excellent, a really enjoyable evening ,would definatley recommend the Black Swan.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    80
    43
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Food is excellent. Service excellent and staff very friendly. Desserts especially delicious. Value for money excellent. Would recommend the restaurant to anyone and meal was very filling.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samandbarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

6 of us ate at The Black Swan, it was the first visit for all of us. 5 of us had starters which were all presented well & good portion size. The mushroom starter was lovely. I had the fish & chips which was lovely a big enough portion even though I requested the smaller portion. The steak looked lovely too very lean & cooked to perfection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Arrived 1p.m. On Friday 6th June and we wanted a light bite lunch. Told they had run out of potatoes (so no jacket potatoes) and no brown bread left for sandwiches, a wedding party was due to arrive and the rest of their customers were second class citizens ! Two ladies near us had sent first order back, and when the food came out again it was still wrong, so they left having been there an hour already, and we left and enjoyed a very nice lunch just up the road at the Red Fox.
Once bitten twice shy , the Black Swan management should realise how much excellent competition there is in this area

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and i must assure you that we are acutely aware of our local competition and constantly strive to achieve. On this occasion we missed. I must assure you that all our customers whether a wedding or a walk-in are as important to us as each other.
Unfortunately on Friday we did run out of potatoes to do jackets and brown bread, this was due to a delivery issue and we apologise.
The two customers who were sat near to you, were served and dealt with by a member of the management team and a 3rd party view does not glean all the information or circumstances.
I have spoken to the manager and chef involved and ensured that we learn from your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Poor Quality Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have eaten here a while ago & it was ok, but we heard it has changed hands so we thought we'd give it another chance...wow even worse than before. They served our starter, a prawn cocktail at £4.95 in a tiny glass, as soon as we had our first mouthful we both spat out! Warm like it had been on a windowsill for a while! We complained, got a lukewarm apology so decided to ask for our drinks bill and said we'd leave, never done that before!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kingofthekippax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We apologise wholeheartedly for your poor experience. The Head Chef investigated on the day and has made changes to preparation methods to avoid this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan Restaurant also viewed

Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Newton Le Willows, Merseyside
 

Been to The Black Swan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing