We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor Quality Food”

The Black Swan Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A charming English pub with its very own wildflower duck pond, situated in the pretty village of Hollins Green, in the area of Rixton with Glazebrook, The Black Swan Pub is nestled in a perfect setting for all its visitors. With a friendly atmosphere, fine food, new top spec venue rooms and comfortable boutique bedrooms, The Black Swan is a great place to dine, drink and dream. The Black Swan is ideally located for business meetings, business lunches and parties, with free Wi-Fi, conference facilities, and easy access to both Northbank Industrial Estate and transport links to the City Centre. The 14 beautifully furnished bedrooms make the pub a great choice for a weekend stay with easy access to the Trafford Centre, Football Stadiums, Salford Reds Stadium, both Salford and Manchester City Centres, Gulliver's World and as several racecourses. But if you don’t want to go anywhere, you can relax in the beer garden, feed the ducks or go for a walk around the local area and spend your evening being entertained in the pub.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Poor Quality Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have eaten here a while ago & it was ok, but we heard it has changed hands so we thought we'd give it another chance...wow even worse than before. They served our starter, a prawn cocktail at £4.95 in a tiny glass, as soon as we had our first mouthful we both spat out! Warm like it had been on a windowsill for a while! We complained, got a lukewarm apology so decided to ask for our drinks bill and said we'd leave, never done that before!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kingofthekippax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We apologise wholeheartedly for your poor experience. The Head Chef investigated on the day and has made changes to preparation methods to avoid this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    80
    43
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food average service terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Not enough portions of specials, absolutely terrible service, ruined a celebration meal, food average and poor value for money. Only Good thing is the place is lovely. Really disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank manchesternurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and I am so sorry we failed you on this occasion. I will contact you shortly to understand the specifics of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“average food poor service, good beer garden.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a table for 8 including children.
The food was not what we expected for the cost.
Fish and chips disappointing. Children's meal poor, with frozen chips!!
I thought that nobody could spoil Risotto, but they managed it, absolutely tasteless.
Waitresses asked to often " did we want more drinks" Got a pint of beer instead of the shandy which was ordered
Had to ask for condiments/Tartar sauce.
All in all disappointing. Could try better

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lopye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for not hitting our usual high standards with our award winning Fish & Chips. Yes, you are correct we use frozen fries for the kids meals, this was following customer feedback. We would love to serve kids our thick handcut fresh chips, as they are healthier than fries, but a lot of parents complained as the kids didnt like eating them and a kids portion, due to the size of the chips would be 3/4 chips. Keeping fries fresh can impair the quality and also generate a lot of food wastage.
The Head Chef is really disappointed that you didn't enjoy the Risotto and would have personally cooked you a fresh portion if it had been brought to his attention on the day.
I am sorry that your experience wasn't perfect and hope that you return so that you can see we have learned from your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average food, perfect beer garden!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

2 of us came here on a nice, warm day and the beer garden and car park was rammed. Luckily there is quite a bit of space on the front road to park on. There is a lot of space in the beer garden for kids, with football nets and a play area. There was also a chef outside serving burgers and the usual stuff.
We sat inside where it was more relaxing and quiet, in the restaurant area. Along with the menu, there was a few specials on the board. We started with a bread selection for starters which was massive. This came with olives, sundried tomatoes, balsamic vinegar and hummus. Would definitely recommend this as a sharer!! Then the burger for mains. Overall, the food was ok but the service was poor. Girls constantly coming over with orders that we hadn't placed. And also the music inside was very depressing haha! Great place for a drink outside though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Swan R, General Manager at The Black Swan Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about the mix up with your table, due to recruiting a large amount of new team members recently we have had a few teething problems, but this is no excuse. The music is something we feel we have now rectified, it is finding that happy medium that is not invasive and suits a whole range of tastes. Let me know next time you visit what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
383 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Lovely food & excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our party of 18 (with 3 under 7s) posed a logistical threat that was easily accommodated by the cheerful & efficient staff. There were other parties in evidence too - all seemed happy with their Sunday afternoon. The food was super with plenty of variety, served warm & with great attention by our waitresses. The great weather meant the outdoor areas were full but everyone seemed happy with the bar service. Very happy diners - an excellent choice for lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan Restaurant also viewed

Sale, Greater Manchester
 
Newton Le Willows, Merseyside
 
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to The Black Swan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing