We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow to warm up, but loved in the end.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Certificate of Excellence
New Prague, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow to warm up, but loved in the end.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I went to Ruttger's for our 10 year anniversary. When my husband said it was $400 a night I was expecting a fancy cabin with all the extras. When we got there and walked into the cabin, it smelled damp and I found a few spiders in the bathroom:( The bedroom part of our cabin didn't have air conditioning, but rather a ceiling fan with the actual air conditioner in the attached room. If we would of brought our 4 kids with they would of stayed in that room and froze because the air would have been on the entire time.

With that being said, things did get better. The dining experience was excellent! Great food and the buffets were awesome. Pearl, the hostess, was a sweetheart and very patience with everyone she seated(even the ones who didn't make reservations for dinner:) Golf course is beautiful and the guys working the pro shop were extremely friendly! The resort grounds are beautiful with a lounge chair almost everywhere you went, to sit and enjoy the lake view! We didn't find any workers that weren't friendly to us!

Not knowing what to expect before we came, I thought initially we over paid for our stay. The $400 a night is expensive, but it also INCLUDED boat cruises, tubing, canoes, kayaks, paddle boards, sailboats and a variety of other water activities. The $400 a night ALSO included our breakfast and dinner and if you're worried about paying for lunch, you won't need to because you'll eat enough at breakfast that you won't need lunch! We could have stayed cheaper, but those things would NOT have been included.

My husband and I already have been talking about coming back with the kids(we'll have to figure out the air conditioning problem:) The rest of the cabin was fine with it's rustic feel, but cozy touch. You can tell what families have been making Ruttger's a family tradition for a long time by just looking around and seeing all the smiling faces. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone! Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad things got better and you loved it in the end, but I’m so sorry about the first impression and the problems with your cabin.

I hope you do return with your kids. Please let us know and we will help figure out the best option (including air conditioning) for your family.

Thanks for being our guests!

Chris Ruttger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    36
    0
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
21
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge is the ultimate " throw back fun" family vacation, with modern amenities.
We had another amazing family vacation, swimming, golfing, boating, laughing and of course eating! The resort had something for everyone in our extended family. And the food is amazing!
We made great memories and are already talking about next time!

Room Tip: We love having a cabin that faces the lake and is located near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolsue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Glad to hear you had another amazing family vacation. “Throw back fun” is a great way to put it!

People often mention the nostalgic feel of the cabins. We try to keep them up to date (flat screen TVs, updated fresh linens, etc.) but it’s the knotty pine interiors and charm of having your own little place on the lakeshore that make them popular. Thank you for mentioning them. Thanks for being our guests!

Chris Ruttger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We planned a family reunion at Ruttgers on Bay Lake. Family from Minnesota, California, Virginai and Pennsylvania all converged on this wonderful resort for 4 days. All of us from the ages of 3 to 77 had a great family vacation. This family run resort could not have been more helpful, the golf course was great, the lake beautiful and all the lake toys you need are there or close by. For a good old fashioned vacation with generations of family, this is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boojewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Family reunions like yours have become so popular and it’s great. You get away where you can enjoy each other and leave the details to us. Now that all your family members are back in their respective parts of the country I hope they will take time now and then to think of Bay Lake and the memories you made here.

Thank you for being our guests. I’m honored that you chose Ruttger’s as your gathering place.

Chris Ruttger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blondie56001
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We recently stayed for the first time at Ruttgers Bay Lake Lodge. Wonderful experience start to finish. There was something for everyone for our family ranging in age from 3 to 60. The villas worked perfectly for us. The facility is well maintained, and the staff a pleasure. Loved the beachside pool, beautiful beach, wonderful food, and pontoon cruises on beautiful Bay Lake. Fishing from the pontoon was great for our young grandchilden. We plan to keep coming to Ruttgers in the future for our family summer vacation. Everyone loved it!

Room Tip: For a family vacations the villas are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie56001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Glad to hear what a good time you had on your first visit. Isn't it fun to see all the generations enjoying each other’s company?

My thanks to all of you for being our guests! I hope to see you again soon.

Chris Ruttger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

What an amazing place to relax and unwind....or play to your hearts content! I just love everything about Ruttgers. Have been visiting for 6 years and every year I love it more. Long walks in the morning, delightful breakfast (served by a wonderful staff), canoeing, fishing, paddle boarding, golfing, curled up reading a book..... Everyone there goes out of their way to make sure you have an amazing time. Thank you to all the Ruttgers who have made such a wonderful vacation spot! Love all the old time photos too :-)

Room Tip: We had cabin 401 this time and loved it!!! It has its own fireplace and is very quiet and almost on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparky99Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
What a great vacation agenda you laid out: long walks in the morning, breakfast, canoeing, fishing, paddle boarding, golfing, curled up reading a book. I love it!

Thanks for your kind remarks about the food and especially the staff. We are so lucky to have such a great group of people to work with. Thank you for coming back to Ruttger’s again. I look forward to seeing you next time.

Chris Ruttger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We have been hosted at Ruttgers for many years and this is overall the best family vacation ever! Lots of activities for the kids, relaxation if you want it, sports if you play them good family fair for all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csemrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
You are so kind to write this nice review! Great to know this was the best family vacation ever. Thank you for being our guests for many years, can't wait to see you again next time!

Chris Ruttger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have been fortunate to stay at Ruttger's four years in a row. Whether in a hotel room, cabin or condo, we have had a fantastic experience. The Ruttger family rightfully takes pride in the property and the hospitality. We stay at Ruttger's while our son is at hockey camp in Deerwood.

Room Tip: Think about what is best for you and your significant other/family vis-a-vis an in-lodge room, a cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCMomX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi,

Really appreciate you’re nice comments. It’s great to hear how much you enjoy the property and hospitality. Thanks for being our guests, I look forward to seeing you next time hockey camp brings you to Minnesota!

Chris Ruttger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerwood
23.9 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
396 reviews
24.2 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
259 reviews
18.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
21.3 mi away
Whitefish Lodge and Suites
24.1 mi away
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
#3 of 3 in East Gull Lake
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge

Property: Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Address: 25039 Tame Fish Lake Rd, Deerwood, MN 56444-8544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Deerwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run resort on Bay Lake is over 100 years old and offers programs for children. The property closes between November to April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruttger`s Bay Lake Hotel Deerwood
Ruttgers Bay Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing