We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Deer River
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
22
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bay fish cleaning family vacation get away oakwood dani sand playground opening lodge week guide amenities indiana relaxation accommodations row
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2019

All the way from Wyoming several times. Well worth the drive. Accommodations are very clean, the owners are wonderful, fishing is very good, grounds are well maintained and it is beautiful country.
All the amenities of home to make things comfortable on the not so nice days.
Great for kids to spend time in the outdoors. Nice beach, playground, water toys etc.
Highly recommend this to anyone looking to get away, relax, fish and enjoy family time.

Room tip: A couple older cabins that are nice but the rest are newer and are great!
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Owner at Lakewood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank You for your review Craig. It was great seeing you again and appreciate that you choose to stay at Lakewood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019

10 years ago we decided to try Lakewood Lodge for the Minnesota fishing opener. The cabins were beautiful, modern, and very clean. Even the fish cleaning shacks were the best I have ever seen. The resort is on a small bay, so weather is not a problem.
Before I left, I booked a week in July to bring the family up for a summer vacation. July 2019 was our 20th trip to Lakewood, 10 openers with the boys, and 10 family summer vacations. Steve and Dani are wonderful hosts and have become great friends.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Owner at Lakewood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2019

Scott,
So glad 10 years ago you decided to stay at a resort closer to the lakes you normally fish. We too consider your family to be Great Friends. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

Opening Fishing Week... 7 of us guys have been coming to Lakewood for last 15 years. Great modern cabins, great fish cleaning facilities, we have always had positve stays and fishing good to excellent. Owners (Steve and Dani) are very friendly and accommodating. We have NEVER been disappointed. A+ rating from this guy..

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Owner at Lakewood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2019

Hey Dave, Thank You for your kind words and review. It has been great getting to know your group and watching your grandson grow up over the years. Take Care. See you in May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Looking for a great place to spend quality time with family and friends this is it. The cabins were very nice, the hosts were wonderful. We rented a pontoon for our entire week stay and spent a lot of time on sand lake. We would definitely come back

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank KristenH1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Owner at Lakewood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2019

Hey Kristen, Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank You for your review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Best resort for a family vacation. My family has been coming for 15 years. The cabins are so nice. They have swings set up throughout where you can catch the best sunsets! The beach is great with white sand, deck chairs, a floating raft, slide, kayaks and water bikes to use. There is a playground for the little ones and they have minnow races and other activities to keep them entertained. The fishing is usually really good and the lodge is a fun place to hang out if it rains (and the bloody marys are awesome-they infuse their vodka with peppers! ). The owners are great and make us feel like family when we are there. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbenredjeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Owner at Lakewood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2019

Hey M. Thank You for your great review. We have truly enjoyed the many years you have been coming to Lakewood. It has been great watching all the kids grow over the years. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews