We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jin's has been a strong presence in this community for at least 50 years.”
Review of Jin's Chow Mein

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jin's Chow Mein
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Crystal
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jin's has been a strong presence in this community for at least 50 years.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I met Mee Jin when I was a very little girl. My Dad and he were great friends and core members of this community. The food is terrific. Everyone I know who has moved away from here, misses Jin's as a part of our home, our past and our present thankfully : ) We have actually sent Jin's to relatives in Alaska who needed a Jin's fix! Don't hesitate - it's wonderful stuff, and wonderful folks:)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“They used to have good food”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Jin's has been a staple in Crystal for ages. I've eaten there for 14 years. They used to serve excellent chicken subgum among other things. Now on an order for one, you get a sub-par base with about a tablespoon of tasteless ground chicken sprinkled on top. Also in the past, they firmly packed the white rice container fully. Now the container is never full and is so loosely spooned in there that it's a joke.

The pork egg foo young is still good, but again, there's never enough rice to even accompany one patty.

Since I've found a much better new Chow Mein restaurant in the area, Jin's gets very little of my business.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Try the Egg Foo Young”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This take out restaurant has the best egg foo young and chow mein in the area. Service is so quick you don't have to call ahead unless it's an extra large order. Prices are great too.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Been going here for years!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

First off, be warned...cash or check only. But, if you like tasty food in abundance for a good price, Jin's is great. It's your tradition American "Chinese" food, but it's sooooooooooooooooo good. Plus, always great people working there!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alstensby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Chop Suey in the US”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Been getting take out Chow Mein for 50 years. Take out only, but they do have 2 tables inside if you can't wait..If you are in the Crystal area, it is a clear choice.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 60950Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jin's Chow Mein also viewed

Maple Grove, MN
 

Been to Jin's Chow Mein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing