We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer fun!”
Review of Boyd Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boyd Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Crosslake
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great summer fun!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

2nd time here with our large family. Was wonderful again! The new cabin was nice but lighting in bathroom was WAY too dark. Not the resort's fault but the builder of cabin. Activities everyday were nice. Sad this time we missed tie-dye.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikhilmoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just came back from a very pleasant weekend at Boyd Lodge. The setting is gorgeous, with pine and birch trees. There was fresh snow which made it even more beautiful. Three couples stayed in a 3-bedroom loft cabin, and it was everything we were looking for. Cozy and comfortable with a wood-burning fireplace. The cabin had everything we needed; seems like they thought of everything. The kitchen was wonderfully equipped with dishes and cookware. Good location--close to Crosslake. The owner was great and very friendly. Would definitely go back again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MinnCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Boyd Lodge in January, and I can't wait to go back again. The cabin was fantastic, and everything we needed was provided (you have to bring your own towels, but that's about it). We brought cooking supplies we didn't think we'd find in the kitchen there, but ended up not having to use them at all, since they were all stocked (even a popcorn maker!).

The staff was extremely friendly, and we were able to borrow skis from the lodge for free and take advantage of the ski trails nearby. The hot tub and sauna were open 24 hours in the winter, too. There's a trash can and firewood rack (restocked daily) at each cabin so you don't have to go very far if you don't feel like it. When it was -20 degrees, our only venture outside was the 50 feet to the hot tub!

There's a little store onsite with all the emergency supplies you may need, or there's a big grocery store 10 miles away in Pequot Lakes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plinkonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was our family tradition for my mom and I, before I moved to FL, to visit every year. We've been here in the fall and winter, but never the summer. We like how it's more quiet during these times of the year. The people who work here are fantastic and so warm! They make us feel welcomed every time. The cabins are so cozy and and the little personal touches to the decorating make it feel homey. The big family cabin is beyond amazing. I would love to come up here with my family and stay in it sometime. We usually stay inside or go into town and shop, but they have the beach close by and places to explore back in the woods. The trails are fun to explore! Great getaway!

Room Tip: The family cabin (the largest one) is new and has all the latest finishes and touches. Perfect for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

at Boyd's in cabin #51. It was very romantic, especially the wood burning fireplace. It is about 10 minutes from the town of Crosslake. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the innkeeper very accomodating, as we did not arrive until almost 11 pm and she stayed up to greet us. Make sure to have breakfast at the Pine Peak in town. Also had a good dinner at The Wharf only 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: #51 is closest cabin to the road, but the road has very little traffic, Next time I would try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

The cabin was great, grounds well kept and staff very friendly. The cabin we had did not have a lake view. The beach is awesome but a long way from the cabin area. The best views of Whitefish lake have been sold off to private homes, isolating the cabins. Also, access to Rush lake is through a long, narrow and no-wake channel. Overall, a nice place to stay and we enjoyed our vacation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank slimpiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My family stayed at Boyd the 9th and 10th of March. This is the third time my wife and I have stayed at Boyd, and our daughters first. We all loved it. We have enjoyed every stay. I have never stayed in the summer, so I can't recommend the warm seasons. The winter however is great to just get away and have a quiet cabin all to your own.

There is not much that you have to provide for yourself.... food, towels, beer. Just a great laid back time to decompress!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couchsitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosslake
2.9 mi away
Whitefish Lodge and Suites
2.7 mi away
Pine Peaks Lodge and Suites
22.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
405 reviews
22.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
21.5 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyd Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyd Lodge

Property: Boyd Lodge
Address: 36539 Silver Peak Rd, Crosslake, MN 56442-2958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Crosslake
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Crosslake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyd Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Boyd Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing