We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pine Point Lodge & Resort
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Cathy and Jeff are great owners and they always have a friendly and helpful staff. This was our nineth year at Pine Point Lodge. Cabins are rustic and clean, with a nice deck and grill. Boats are gassed up and ready to go every morning. If you don't want to clean your own fish they clean them for you and wrap them up and put them in your fridge for you. We rent 3 boats every year and have had 1 problem in that time. A bad battery for the trolling motor. They had it switched out and had us back out fishing in 15 minutes. Beautiful area and good fishing. What more could you want for a week of fishing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVMotel, Owner at Pine Point Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2015

Hi, Jack,

Thank you! We love seeing you guys every year and look forward to your next visit in 2016.

Take care and we will keep in touch.

Jeff & Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Pine Point Lodge & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Recently returned for the fourth year in a row. We love this place. Jeff, Kathy and all the staff are super friendly and helpful.
The cabins are rustic and just what a group of guys want, the kitchen is stocked with all necessary equipment, beds are comfortable, nice deck and grill. Bathroom is very small but fine for guys. Although we do see some females there also the bathroom would detour our wives.
Rental boats are new and well equipped, fish is unloaded and cleaned by crew, wrapped and labeled and frozen for trip home.
We cooked a shore lunch at brown's bay. This is god's country! Fantastic view, eagle swooped down and caught a fish right in front of us!
You won' t find a better place at this value!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVMotel, Owner at Pine Point Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2015

Hi, Mark,

Thank you! We appreciate hearing from you. God's country is what most people say about this area. It's a must see!

Great feedback! We agree that some of the bathrooms are small. Our Norway cottage has the biggest bathroom which is 8 x10 along with a new 8 x 12 kitchen. Check it out on your next visit.

We loved hearing from you, take care and we will keep in touch.

Jeff & Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a great place to get away from it all and totally relax. We went for our 41st anniversary and even though we were in heavy rain the first three days it was an awesome vacation. We arrived at the dock in a heavy rain downpour. Two guys from the camp came in the boat (enclosed) and in about 2 min. totally loaded our gear into the boat and we headed out to the resort about 5 - 10 min away. We docked at our cabin and another guy showed up and all 3 of them moved everything into the cabin and we were set for our vacation. (That's what I call service) We rented a boat and motor which was practically new which included a few awesome and unexpected benefits. With the first 3 day days of rain the staff went out 2-3 times during the night to run the bilge pumps so when we got into the boat in the morning it had very little water in it and they also refilled the fuel tanks every night so that you started the day heading out to fish or tour without making a stop for fuel.
The cabins were warm (it was 55 - 70 degrees outside) and comfortable with alot of windows looking out over the lake which is only 40-50 ft away. They did an excellent job of letting us know what they provided and what we needed to bring so that we were prepared for a great vacation.
Now I get to the part that most people can dream of, the location. I love to fish and my wife hates fishing but loves to go boating. There is all of Voyaguer Nation Park right across the lake. While it was raining I would go fishing and my wife would sit in the front of the boat under a golf umbrella and read her book. There is excellent fishing and don't be afraid to ask the staff where to go as it is a hugh area. If you don't feel like cooking, the city of Crane Lake has a good restaurant and great ice cream about 10 min boat ride away or else you can take a 2 or 3 hour boat ride to Kettle Falls Hotel/Restaurant or any of the eateries at ash river. We can easily boat for 6 or 7 (80 miles) hours and never go over the same water twice. Or if you want to hang around the resort they have great pizza in the lodge,
Finally there is the staff. Jeff and Cathy are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. They will do anything to make your stay great without being overbearing. We were there with record rains and by the middle of the week alot of the docks were under water. They were fighting flooding and were always so positive about everything and great at keeping everything working so it didn't really impact us. There staff is like an extension of them with the same positive attitude, and willing to help with anything.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank st H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We've stayed at Pine Point 4 times now and we'll go back again . Jeff and Cathy are great owners and are helpful in making your stay as pleasant as possible . Great fishing and a great resort fish fry are the highlights I really enjoy . Although we bring our own boat there boats are in nice shape and well maintained . I do recommend Pine Point Resort .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Big disappointment. Will not go back. Had to bring our own towels and soap for a huge price per night - very overpriced. The owners were pleasant and the location was beautiful and serene, but not worth the amount we paid. Felt ripped off. WILL NOT GO BACK.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVMotel, Owner at Pine Point Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2015

Debbie, we feel bad that you were disappointed. Being a boat in resort, towels are not provided as we are a small family run business. We do not have a huge commercial laundry facility to handle that task nor is there one located with in a 3 hours round trip drive. Please accept our apologies for not clearly communicating that to you. Our nine cottages, at the boat in location, are not the Ritz, but they are clean, have new comfortable beds, outdoor decks with char-griller BBQs on them, smooth top cook ranges, Cuisinart pots and pans, Bunn coffee makers, microwaves, full size refrigerators with freezers on top, along with the up north, quaint, rustic cabin feel that our guests adore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

All I can say is if you enjoy catching fish, hiking or just want to see a picturest view 24/7 then Pine Point Lodge is for you and your family. Cabins are excellent and the people (Jeff, Cathy, Casey & Staff) are the best-always making your vacation one to remember every year. Roger

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basskoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've never had a bad experience here. The staff is always helpful. Cathy and Jeff are some of the nicest people i've met in all my travels. the boats are always in top shape. the fishing is great. (you'd be surprised what you can catch right off the docks) My kind of resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crane Lake
24.6 mi away
Birch Forest Lodge
Birch Forest Lodge
#1 of 10 in Orr
66 reviews
22.2 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#4 of 10 in Orr
21 reviews
25.0 mi away
Cabin O' Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Junction Inn Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices

Been to Pine Point Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Point Lodge & Resort

Address: 7533 Gold Coast Rd, Crane Lake, MN 55725-8011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Crane Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Crane Lake
Price Range: $123 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine Point Lodge & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Pine Point Lodge, Resort & Motel. For a moment, close your eyes and imagine yourself on our pontoon “limo” on your way to our exclusive, remote, yet accessible resort, located on the shoreline of over ¼ million acres of waterway that includes Voyageur’s National Park, the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness, and Canadian waterways. This is one of two locations that we offer. At this location, you may choose from housekeeping cottages, rooms, or a houseboat to spend your much deserved vacation. Add one of our new pontoon or fishing boats to your stay and find yourself catching fish, exploring the miles of lakes, rivers and secluded bays, relaxing at a secluded beach, hiking wilderness trails, and much more – it’s your vacation, you choose. Our second location, which you can drive to, is the Lakeview Motel and Lakeview House, located at 7533 Gold Coast Road. This location provides free parking for those guests at our boat accessible location. In addition, you may stay in one of the three comfortable, clean, ground level, lake front motel rooms or choose our two bedroom plus lake home to rent. Walk to and from restaurants, lounges, and gift stores. Most importantly, you would have free use of all the resort amenities at the boat accessible location along with choosing a rental boat of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pine Point Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing