We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location, experienced owners.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Point Lodge & Resort
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique location, experienced owners.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Pine Point is the best combination of wilderness fishing and family activities we have ever seen. The Crane Lake-Kabetagoma chain offers excellent fishing and unspoiled northwoods country, yet there are good restaurants on Crane and numerous sightseeing options nearby. Pine Point's beach and zip line are great if the kids tire of fishing. The owners and staff are helpful but never intrusive. We bring our own boat, but their rental fleet is top knotch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalleyeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I went with my friends and my brother the first time three years ago and we all vowed to go every year we can from now on! We take two or three fishing vacations a year to different places and this is by far our favorite overall AND the most affordable one! Tough to beat that. We just made it back from our third year in a row and it just keeps getting better every time. The owners, Jeff and Cathy, are terrific. They really care about everyone having a great time and go the extra mile to make it happen. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and Kyle is one of the most knowledgeable fishing guides I have ever met. The cabins are great, each with their own deck and bar-b-que right out front, and they're all just a few feet away from the water. The rental boats are the best I've seen! Fishing is excellent for many different species... and the little touches like pinpointing great fishing spots for you, cleaning the fish and the boat every night for you, even wiping the dew off the boat seats early in the mornings, etc., really make a difference... you feel like you're a king there! All you have to do is cast the rod. I've caught the biggest bass, pike, and even muskie all right there... check out these pics.... Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: The pool is the lake! They made a beach there! And they make awesome pizza that they'll even d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hadagreattrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Unfortunately I only get 200 characters...Me and my buddies from across the country have been coming to PP for 7 years. As Mike and Katie mention Cathy, Jeff, and the staff are the best. Last year 5/17/13, 2 of us caught 6 smallies (and they weren't even biting yet), 16 Northern, and 23 Walleye for a total of 78 FEET of fish. Overpriced?? (Jen), $500 each for 7 days of fishing, premium boats which are exchanged for new every other year, and great accomodations, If you're a fisherman, this is the place to fish and stay. Already booked for 2014.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the cabins and the penthouse. The last couple of years we have stayed in the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just returned from my 3rd time staying with Jeff & Cathy for a week. They are great hosts, everything is as they say it will be...no surprises in how they and their staff deliver great customer service and provide quality equipment and facilities. Its great to have access to the abundant fish and majestic scenery without having to leave the country. Thanks again to PPL for a great week of fishing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Can't say enough about the owners, the staff, and the accommodations Pine Point Lodge offers. Having been a customer of the lodge and a visitor of the Voyaguers National Park for almost 25 years now, says it all.
Jeff & Cathy Erickson (owners) provide a fun enviroment that caters to families as well as friends wanting to get away and enjoy the great outdoors.
The lodge itself is located at the front door of the Voyaguers National Park. The fishing, the wildlife, and the photography opportunities in this nestled jewel of our great country is worth beholding.
I say; "come one come all, bring your family, bring your friends to share in the beauty!"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a good place if you want a real fishing experience. The houses aren't fancy, but they are accommodating. I spend most of the time out on a boat fishing with my family members to worry about a smaller room or a smaller bathroom. You can bring your own food to cook for the nights, or you can take a boat into town and eat at the bar. It's a fun get away if you are looking for something more down to earth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

June 8 2013 paid for a week stay and the one room was too small for 3 people and the bathroom was very small. The bathroom was made for a 5 ft tall man. And there is no place to cook and the refrigerator and freezer is too small to store food for a week and to also freeze fish. I will never return to Pine Point Lodge. James Ropp

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVMotel, Owner at Pine Point Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2015
Dear Jim,

We were sorry to hear that the cabin you had rented from another facility for your week was no longer available for you when your arrival date was nearing. You were clearly upset when you called us at the last minute looking for accommodations. None of our two or three cottages were available at our boat in resort. However, in an effort to help you, we explained that we had a two person motel room available at our drive to location in Crane Lake. We offered to add a rollaway to accommodate the 3rd person. When you asked about cooking, we explained that the room was not set up for cooking, but that there is an outdoor gas grill cooking area on the lakefront. I realized how upset you were about your cabin with the cooking facility in it no longer being available in Crane Lake. I am sure you miss it. I only wished that we would have had one our cottages open which would have given you ample room along with a full kitchen for cooking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crane Lake
24.6 mi away
Birch Forest Lodge
Birch Forest Lodge
#1 of 10 in Orr
57 reviews
22.2 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#5 of 10 in Orr
18 reviews
25.0 mi away
Cabin O' Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
White Eagle Resort on Lake Vermilion
Show Prices

Been to Pine Point Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Point Lodge & Resort

Property: Pine Point Lodge & Resort
Address: 7533 Gold Coast Rd, Crane Lake, MN 55725-8011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Crane Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Crane Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine Point Lodge & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Pine Point Lodge, Resort & Motel. For a moment, close your eyes and imagine yourself on our pontoon “limo” on your way to our exclusive, remote, yet accessible resort, located on the shoreline of over ¼ million acres of waterway that includes Voyageur’s National Park, the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness, and Canadian waterways. This is one of two locations that we offer. At this location, you may choose from housekeeping cottages, rooms, or a houseboat to spend your much deserved vacation. Add one of our new pontoon or fishing boats to your stay and find yourself catching fish, exploring the miles of lakes, rivers and secluded bays, relaxing at a secluded beach, hiking wilderness trails, and much more – it’s your vacation, you choose. Our second location, which you can drive to, is the Lakeview Motel and Lakeview House, located at 7533 Gold Coast Road. This location provides free parking for those guests at our boat accessible location. In addition, you may stay in one of the three comfortable, clean, ground level, lake front motel rooms or choose our two bedroom plus lake home to rent. Walk to and from restaurants, lounges, and gift stores. Most importantly, you would have free use of all the resort amenities at the boat accessible location along with choosing a rental boat of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Point Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing