We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service; meets the standards of the brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good service; meets the standards of the brand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stay often at different Country Inn and Suites locations and this hotel met our expectations of this very predictable, standardized chain. The one-bedroom suites are good for families, with a separate bedroom door and some basic kitchen facilities. The services - breakfast, pool, fitness room are all typical of the brand; nothing outstanding, but all quite acceptable.

We found the service here quite good. We asked for a ground-floor suite and when there were none available, we were given a larger room. Checking out, we discovered we were eligible for a discount and it was happily given to us.

When approaching the hotel from the 10/61, watch out for the roundabouts at the exit - confusing the first time. The hotel is a quick drive to various stores and services with more just up East Point Douglas Road. Cottage Grove is about 15-20 minutes from the core of the city and the Mall of America, but it was no problem getting around on the many freeways in the Twin Cities.

Don't forget to go to downtown Minneapolis and see the Mary Tyler Moore statue at 7th and Nicollet!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    44
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
91
20
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

My room was nice, beds fine, feathered pillow was old & empty except for hard feathers - I used a rolled up towel. It should have been thrown out. A relative in another room had a good one. The front desk ladies were fine. No problem. Breakfast was crappy however - not as advertised on their website. There was no assortment of breads, muffins, bagels as they advertised. One refined white flower bagel, one kind of muffin - cake, one kind of toast and that was probably white refined flour too. Never saw hot cereal. Cold was garbage - fruit loops. Do they actually think people go out for that crap, or even eat it in their homes? Fresh fruits were either an orange or a red delicious apple - not my kind of apple. No assortment at all. The yogurt was not real yogurt. It was sugared Yoplait - the ingredients told me not to bother. Some people don't mind eating plastic. I do. They could not provide any egg except a hard boiled egg. Their reasoning - they order those in, preserved in vinegar. However, it was the oldest egg I've ever tasted, with the flavor of vinegar. Absolutely horrible. I have never tasted such an OLD egg in all my life. Fortunately it did not make me sick. I left the other half. The only good thing I can say about breakfast here is that they have real maple syrup for the waffles and the waffles were very good, even though probably refined that I would not ordinarily eat. The vat was empty every morning and I had to wait at least 10 minutes for someone to show up to get the waffle on one morning. There were mozzarella cheese sticks - can't go wrong there. Coffee & tea, 2 percent milk were fine - standard. Fresh orange juice from a machine tasted very good. Their website says... and much more. There was no much more. There was nothing more and there were no berries for the waffles as their website shows. Expect not much more than the bare minimum and not what they advertise because it isn't accurate. There is no kitchen. Nothing is made fresh and they don't know the meaning of the word assortment. If I made it sound awful, it wasn't that bad. Fortunately for the waffle and maple syrup. I really enjoyed that.

  • Liked — The room was fine.
  • Disliked — The breakfast.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

Great service at this place. All the staff are so friendly - saying hi to you as you walk by. The kids loved the pool. Breakfast was a good selection and the woman who ran it was very friendly and kept it stocked and spic and span.

One day my mother -in law found her towels foldeed in the shape of elephants - a very fun touch. We were very impressed at the artistry of the cleaning staff and even took some pictures of the towels.

Clean, affordable, great service. You can't go wrong.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank lincolnwhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

I have always found Country Inn and Suites to be nice motels. This one in particular was very clean. We did have a problem with the AC when we got to our room, but were immediately offered a new room and the front desk clerk even brought us the key to the new room. The pool area was excellent and the kids absolutely loved it. The breakfast can't be beat. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dilbert65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2006

Stayed here for one night- a very nice hotel around 25 minutes away from downtown. Lobby was nice and there was a fire burning in the fireplace. There was a modest selection of books that were available to borrow. Check-in was very quick and they gave me a choice of rooms. My room was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was great with many different selections. Check-out was also very easy. All in all, had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2004

This is a 2-years new hotel located in a safe, suburban setting 15 Interstate minutes from St. Paul, Minneapolis, airport and Mall of America. Convenient to surburban shopping and restaurants. In Cottage Grove, no need to worry about driving into a "dangerous" area -it's all pretty tame.

The country decor is inviting, with wood floors, fireplace, and freshly baked cookies in the lobby. Rooms are country as well, dark green and beige, and many public areas feature attractive stencils on the walls.

Indoor heated pool/hot tub area is bright and attractive, with vaulted wood ceilings and Palladian windows. Kids loved it.

Free breakfast buffet, described as "light," is delightful. Homemade waffles with strawberries and whipped cream, French toast, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, cereals, hard-cooked eggs, yogurt, and my personal favorite: country sausage gravy over biscuits, just like my grandmother used to make.

P.S. After eating a great breakfast, work it off in the exercise room. Or maybe not.

Helpful?
5 Thank BelleSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottage Grove
23.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
6.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Inver Grove Heights/Minneapolis
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
6.2 mi away
Envision Hotel St. Paul South
Envision Hotel St. Paul South
#1 of 1 in South Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Campus Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Campus Inn
#1 of 5 in River Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
9.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Address: 8350 E Point Douglas Rd S, Cottage Grove, MN 55016-3324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cottage Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove Hotel Cottage Grove
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Country Inn Cottage Grove
Cottage Grove Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing