We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tembe Elephant Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tembe Elephant Park Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special Place”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

On the personal recommendation of a friend, my family from California and I visited Tembe. It was a great experience for all of us, friendly and obliging staff, the tent accommodation, natural surroundings, and of course the game - elephants, lions and giraffes at the watering hole all at once - WOW! All in all, it was a memorable visit.

Margaret, Durban

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretK994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
105
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richards Bay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

First trip May 2010 mind blowing.
Return trip Oct 2011 great but game viwing impacted by wet weather. Only 3 elephant seen in two days.
Tembe is a must on any reserve lovers list.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteRichardsBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

What a great place. The accommodation is a little rustic but for us that just added to the appeal. The reall great thing about Tembe is the people. It is a locally run business, with the staff and locals benefiting from the business it creates. We have added Tembe to our regular stops on our tour itinerary.Will definitely be visiting again. Karon Afrikan Majik Safaris & Dive Tours.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington Natal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Tembe staff went out of their way to make us happy - always smiling and friendly - great food, amazing guides, fantastic animals, best elephant we have ever seen. Had such a magnificent time - doubt we'd get this service even in more expensive places. Super accommodation -we just loved it all and will definitely come again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waters0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Tembe is a wonderful destination to visit, especially for those that love elephants! I have been to many game parks in my life, and even spend a lot of time in the Masai Mara, but the very large elephants and tuskers you get to witness at Tembe are breath-taking! We saw so much (big and small) during our short stay there, in large open-jeep vehicles led by a well-informed ranger. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the food was outstanding and the stories around the campfire at night were a great touch to finish off a lovely day. I will certainly return to Tembe again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Entumoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was an awesome holiday. We will most definately be returning. We have stayed at extensive game lodges and Tembe rates as one of the best, the food, the service, the staff are all amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from the main eating area so are quite and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desree t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I decided to see if we could visit the Tembe Elephant Park as a family after seeing that a number of photographic workshops are hosted there. As an obsessive photographer I wanted to see what there was to see and photograph that had drawn others with similar interests. From the start we felt that this park of our December-January holiday was going to be a treat, and it did not disappoint! The Tembe people make one feel welcome from the moment you arrive and the special care doesn't stop. Tom, the lodge manager, was present at most meals and he has a real skill to listen to people. I was so impressed to see him addressing a German couple in their home language! The heat was certainly something in early January, but the two lengthy included game drives provided blissful relief from the high temperatures, as well as giving many opportunities for great sightings and photographs thanks to our super guide, Vusi! The swimming pool, as well as the shower in our permanent tent provided relief as well. I unreservedly recommend others to visit the Tembe Elephant Lodge as well!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tembe Elephant Park
7.9 mi away
Royal Thonga Safari Lodge
Royal Thonga Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tembe Elephant Park
83 reviews
23.7 mi away
Kosi Moon Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Kosi Bay Lodge
Kosi Bay Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kosi Bay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kosi Forest Lodge
Kosi Forest Lodge
#2 of 4 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Divers
Coral Divers
#1 of 16 in Sodwana
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thula Thula Exclusive Private Game Reserve and Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembe Elephant Park Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembe Elephant Park Accommodation

Property: Tembe Elephant Park Accommodation
Address: 72 kms from Jozini, Tembe Elephant Park 3973, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Tembe Elephant Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tembe Elephant Park
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing