We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do!!”

Barossa Daimler Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$260.35*
and up
Private Barossa Valley Winery Tour by Classic 1962 Daimler from the Barossa...
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Rosedale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the moment you see your beautiful, gleaming, black Daimler arrive to collect you, you just know this day is going to be special. Have a brief chat with your guide, John Baldwin, about the wines you love, the wineries you have to see, where you have already been, and then leave it to this passionate local to personally tailor your tour just for you. These rare 1962 Daimlers can seat up to 8 persons when required, but it is really special to be the only two in the vast back seat of these historic vehicles (used in royal tours of the sixties). Premium wine tastings, sumptuous restaurant lunches with wine, afternoon tea at Maggie Beers Farm Shop are all included, plus free collection and return to your Barossa accommodation. John seems to know everyone, and he loves to share his local knowledge and close friendships which he has formed with the winemakers, with all who tour with him. You can visit the large iconic wineries such as Penfolds,Jacobs Creek and Seppeltsfield or be introduced to the smaller boutique wines at Torbreck, Rockford, Charles Melton and Charles Cimicky, to name a few. A Barossa tour begins at 10am and finishes at 5pm. Adelaide pickups are available (at extra cost) and begin at 9am and finish at 5.30pm. A modern 7 seat Mercedes is also available for tours to the Adelaide Hills, Clare Valley and McLaren Vale and is used for the Adelaide accommodation or Airport pickups.
Shepparton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must Do!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We've just finished a day out in the Daimler with John and it was a fantastic day out. John is a real gem, really friendly and treated everyone we came across like an old friend. And the most amazing moustache! The Daimler is a real beauty, gives beautiful views out the window along the way. The perfect vehicle to tour the Barossa in.

We visited 2 wineries, bakery and cheese shop then off for a beautiful lunch at Vintners. We then had some fantastic sightseeing coupled with John's exceptional local knowledge, then to Maggie Beer for a fantastic arvo tea. Stopped in at the Lyndoch butchers on the way back. The day didn't end when John left as we're now nibbling on the local produce we bought along the way!!

Completely personalised tour, worth 6 stars. Thank you!!

Helpful?
Thank kait1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willberry58, Owner at Barossa Daimler Tours, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear kait1989,
Thank you so much for your review and mention of the tour being worth 6 stars.
John is always happy to stop at the many gourmet outlets around The Barossa and ensure you have a few treats to enjoy once he drops you off. Many guests don't need a big evening meal after the day out with him and so he's always happy to do this. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon in The Barossa and also on Kangaroo Island. Spread the word! Everyone gets treated as royalty, as everyone tours with John!
warm regards,
Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Awesome Day In the Barossa Valley”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

From the minute Jon picked us up we knew we were in for a great day! Jon's knowledge of the wines and the wineries was outstanding. Not only did we drink some great wines, we meet some incredable people, had some great laughs and one of the best days we spent in Australia. If your going to visit Barossa don't miss this opportunity.

Cheers to Jon, Libby and the wine makers in the valley!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willberry58, Owner at Barossa Daimler Tours, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Gary B,
John had a great day out with your party of four, and we are proud that you had one of the best days spent in Australia, touring The Barossa in the Daimler. Having a great laugh, meeting incredible people and tasting outstanding wine makes for lasting memories!
Cheers to you too!
regards, Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine tour”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Jon was the most wonderful tour guide. His knowledge of both the wines and the area made our day perfect. He listened to our needs, and steered us in the right directions. We were able to have private tours at several wineries, and he was there to add his expertise. I would highly recommend him if you are traveling to the Barossa!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willberry58, Owner at Barossa Daimler Tours, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Leslie S,
Thank you for your review and kind words.
Tailoring the day to be the best for you, is what makes us happy and it appears that John was able to achieve this. Thank you for coming to The Barossa and South Australia.
warmest regards,
Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Amazing' Would Almost Cover It”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the moment John's stunning car collected us from the hotel, we knew we were in for something amazing and as the rest of the day unfolded via Grant Burge, Turkey Flat, Two Hands, Barossa Cheese Company, Maggie Beers, only to name a few of our stops, it didn't disappoint. Every place John took us to was suitable for our tastes and learning capacity (depending on the time of day). John's knowledge of the wineries, the people, the history and the area was second to none and only something we would have encountered by touring with a true local. Not only did John show us the best of the ‘tucked away’ places that we might have passed by if touring on our own, but he even managed to set us up for the following day of solo touring, suggesting the larger wineries with the best gardens, introducing us to local produce and compiling a hit list of places for us and our picnic lunches to explore. John gave us two wonderful days and we will always remember our time in the Barossa and our host with great fondness.

We have recommended the tour to everyone we could think of and hopefully those recommendations pay off. We will no doubt be back and when we are, yours is the first call we’ll be making.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ACM_3123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willberry58, Owner at Barossa Daimler Tours, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear ACM_3123,
Thank you for your 'amazing' review of your day out with John and the Daimler!
You certainly experienced a great cross section of fine food and wine during your tour and then the next day, with John's list of recommendations. So glad that worked well for you both.
Keep spreading the word, and we look forward to seeing you again next time.
cheers,
Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect on so many levels!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to the Barossa. We had done a very informative small group wine tour in the Hunter Valley and were hoping for a similar experience so decided to book a Barossa Daimler Tour for just the two of us. My husband is very keen on his wines and, after talking to John when he picked us up about what we like/don't like, John managed to organize a perfect itinerary for our day. John obviously has a great rapport with all of the cellar door staff members as he was greeted warmly and we were made to feel very welcome. Went to some of the bigger names but also more boutique wineries too. Marvellous lunch and stopping at the Barossa Valley Cheese Shop and lovely bakery during the day was perfect as that allowed us to buy all we needed for dinner after our big day out wine-tasting!
The only problem was that after having done wine-tastings at the cellar doors with John and having been given so much information about the wines and the wineries, going to any cellar doors the next day on our own was only a disappointment as we never felt that we were given the attention we received when we were on John's tour.
The Daimler was very spacious and luxurious and quite a treat for just the two of us. Trundling along the country roads with such stunning views whilst chatting with John in the Daimler was so relaxing! Felt like we were a world away from our daily grind! We would definitely do a tour with John if we were to go to the Barossa again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank qoo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willberry58, Manager at Barossa Daimler Tours, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear qoo70,
Thank you for the great review.
John loves to share the friendships within the wine industry, with all who tour with him, and it really does make for a great day out. The wineries you visited were a range of larger icons, smaller gems and some in the middle, and for us, the best part is that it was so relaxing for you and you were able to forget the daily grind, if only for one day. That's music to our ears!
Until next time,
regards,
Libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barossa Daimler Tours also viewed

Nuriootpa, Barossa Valley
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Barossa Daimler Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing