We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kirkconnel, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PJardine
Stranraer
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect place!”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful cottage. Peaceful and tranquil but within five minutes walk from village and ten from the train station. Have it chilled out or visit Dumfries or Kilmarnock (both 30 mins by train) or hop on numerous buses to nearby towns and villages. The cottage is absolutely a home from home so cosy and comfortable and a REALLY comfy bed. Malcolm and Lorraine are lovely owners unobtrusive but next door if needed. Fresh eggs were much appreciated. The chickens made us laugh - they were so friendly they wanted In the cottage. Great wee village shop and good Indian carry out in Sanquhar. Though fairly near the main road and railway line you hear nothing - the cottage is so well double glazed. One of the best cottages we've stayed in. Can't wait to go back - but for longer next time. Thank you Malcolm and Lorraine

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - so peaceful
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oggybear
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a great place to stay. Couldn't fault a thing. Spotless and well cared for. The furniture and fixtures and fittings are of the best quality. Lots to do in the area and beautiful countryside. Local station great if you want to use the train instead of driving. Situated between Ayr and Dumfries. Loved the friendly chickens. Lorraine & Malcolm were lovely and very helpful. They even let us take our house cat! We used the local Chinese takeaway at Kelloholm called Loon Fung and ate out at the Lochside House Hotel and Spa near New Cumnock. Both were excellent. We will definitely return to Darna Tighe.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hitprat
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful weekend. Lorraine and welcome made sure we had everything. Great host, friendly and very good location if you want to visit isle of Arran.

We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaSains...
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday accomodation ....highly recommended”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and very comfortable , I would recommend Darna Tighe to anyone. I travelled with my mum and 2 small children, the accomodation had everything we needed and more, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly owners who even provided us with fresh eggs laid by their chickens .....a delicious breakfast indeed! Thank you for a lovely stay we will definitely be back and wouldn't consider anywhere else locally .....I get the impression we will need to book well in advance next time as people become more aware of this little gem which presents excellent value for money.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaMBull
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage - a great place to relax!”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Darna Tighe for four nights and had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. The cottage is well laid out, clean and very comfortable. The downstairs has a spacious kitchen, dining area and a lovely, cosy lounge in addition to a bathroom. Upstairs the bedrooms are a good size and there is an en-suite shower room off the double bedroom.
The cottage is less than an hour from Dumfries but we had some great days out without venturing as far as this. We had a super day at Drumlanrig Castle which is about 20 minutes away and we went for a walk around Wanlockhead. We also visited the newly opened Crawick Multiverse - this is worth a visit.
Thank you for a lovely holiday!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyingdow...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great owners”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a lovely cottage, beautifully laid out which was clean tidy and well appointed. We received a nice welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, eggs and a large bag of ice in the freezer. The eggs are laid by the owners very friendly chickens. The owners are almost as friendly as their chickens and are very helpful. The cottage is well laid out with a large kitchen/dining are and a sitting room off and a good size bathroom/toilet. There is a door from the dining area into a well kept large grass square at the rear. Upstairs the two bedrooms are a good size, one of them being en-suite.
The cottage is less than an hours drive from Dumfries and about an hour and a half from the Galloway Forest Park. We went for a lovely coastal walk from Kippford to Rockcliffe where there were some great views including really nice houses built into the hill sides.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect cottage, had everything you could think of & more, was lovely!”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fresh roses, white linen, lovely countryside, fresh eggs from the on site hens, character and space. We could not fault it! Three friends and I wanted a place we could get away and we found it. It was very well thought out from spaces, beds, cooking utensils right down to the little things like having dvds and games, we played banagrams all weekend! OUtisde there are chickens and a butterfly garden with long walks nearby, suited us to a t. The owners were lovely and very accomodating havent ever stayed where the owners are near by before and would do it again. The pictures here although lovely do not do it justice as it is the sweetest cottage I have stayed in, we were trying to book again before we left, look forward to returning again! Thanks Malcolm & Lorraine!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the space was thought out, there were little cubby holes you could retreat to throughout the house. like the bit under the stairs or the steps in the bedroom to let you star gaze, lovely!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing