We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good neighborhood place”

Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 73 Restaurants in Coon Rapids
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mpls
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good neighborhood place”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I guess in this day and age when it comes to a dining experience being a good thing we may have become a bit jaded due in part to the Food Network as well as shows on the Travel Channel i.e. No Reservations. Sammy's Pizza is an example of a simple place where a person or a young family can have an affordable night out without compromising quality from my point of view. This was a dream that started in 1954 in Hibbing, MN. when a fellow named Sammy Perrella heard stories from WWII vets coming home from Italy about the wonderful dishes that they had experienced. And was so inspired by them that he decided to learn how to make them. OK enough with the history lesson. The lasagna is the kind you know didn't come from a freezer as well as the pasta has that made fresh taste( cause it is) flavor. They also have a decent lunch buffet that is fairly priced. So if its a place in this neck of the woods or the part of the world you call home, don't be afraid to support the local spot in your neighborhood. Just because the place doesn't have a grad from the CIA( not the spy dudes) in the kitchen doesn't mean it's not going to be any good,

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sconehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BEST THIN CRUST PIZZA YOU WILL EVER HAVE”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Best Pizza in Duluth and one of the best I have had anywhere and I have traveled to almost every major city in the united states!! LOVE this place

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jb1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“average food quality”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

restaurant needs to focus more on quantity rather than making money...............staff was great 5/5.............hope to see the changes when visit next time

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamesmacullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Am Missing Something?”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I have heard many good things about Sammy's in CR. So we tried it. One pizza with red sauce and the other with white.

Let start with the white garlic sauce. Nice, mild and pretty solid. It was good. Now the red...it came to the table with the sauce boiling over the limited cheese. It never seemed to cool down. When I did try it, the scolding sauce was watery and extremely bland. With the skimpy cheese and toppings, this was a terrible pizza

Sammy's is not cheap either. Way over priced for the quality. Our server couldn't have been any less interested in our needs. She rolled her eyes at our shock to see a pizza arriving at our table boiling.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serg754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal, mn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where's The Bread?”
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Ate lunch today at Sammy's Pizza. Decided on the buffet. Got in line and noticed most of the food was either low or empty? It wasn't overly busy on a Tuesday at Noon so you would think they would have enough food. People in line around me were waiting for the bread, when a few minutes later they brought out 8 pieces. That was gone in less than a minute. Then they were out of Wings, then the pizza's were always gone and people were waiting for food. One guy said I thought this was a buffet? Where's the food? One patron asked for bread three different trips. Besides the lack of food laid out on the buffet it was pretty good. They just need to manage it better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gregshieibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing