We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”

Jeffers Petroglyphs Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Comfrey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of sacred rock carvings located in the southwestern part of the state.
Spring Valley, MN
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The trails out to the petroglyphs is very pretty with the wildflowers. My hubby is from this area and hadn't been there is years. It's impressive to see all the carvings in the flat rock.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank saustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Programs & History”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Call ahead and find a weekend they are doing programs. They do a wonderful job with all their programs and worth the wait. It is important to stop here at the right time of day.

Helpful?
1 Thank nikzig1773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A peaceful place”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a great tour by guide Gary - wonderful history lesson on the petroglyphs - birds, flowers, and amazing artwork on the red rocks - hard to believe you are out in the middle of farm land in sw Minnesota.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estherville, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We loved our visit to the petroglyphs. Who new they were just sitting there waiting for us. I think they need to adverstise more. I would not drive all the way to Pipestone again. The staff were wonderful and even came out to the stones to pick us up when a sudden thuderstone came up. We also planned our trip when they had experts doing other things like arrow head making and a praire walk. I would definately go back again. We took our small children 9 and 6 and they were very impressed.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank amber h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fascinating, but . . . .”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The carvings up to 7000 years old and the stories behind them are fascinating, but . . .
they are much smaller ( 1-2 feet) than they appear in photographs we've seen of the site and are difficult to see if the sun is not shining. A staff member told us the viewing is best in the morning or on the afternoon tour during which a guide uses a specially designed mirror (if the sun is shining) to make the carvings more visible. The site is not open every day, so be sure to check hours of operation.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank mkl004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeffers Petroglyphs Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Jeffers Petroglyphs Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing