We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and delicious”

Sarna's Classic Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I became aware of Sarna's through the Chamber of Commerce that I belong to and what a wonderful place it is. While it's in kind of a weird area, it is worth the side trip to get there. It is beautiful inside and the food is really amazing...try the Potpie! They have a menu that allows for anyone to find something they will love!

Helpful?
Thank Grandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Place for Late Happy Hour Drinks and Appetizers”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We are semi-regulars for the after 9PM happy hour. The beer specials and discount on appetizers is a good deal. Service, for us, has almost always been at least above average, but maybe that's because after 9PM on a weeknight is not busy, other than bar bingo night, which we find really annoying as always skip.

Appetizer portion sizes are large, two of them is dinner for two, three for three, etc. As far as we can tell, this is a locally owned business that competes with Applybee's, Chili's, TGIF, etc. After going to Sarna's, I would skip the chains in favor of them. Prices are as good or better, and the food is *a lot* better.

Did I mention the appetizers? We really like those. Here's our favorites:
1. Steak bites: these are really good. They are well salted and the dipping sauce is really good.
2. Sweet potato fries. For a while, this was one of the few places we knew of in the cities that did these, so that made them stand out. Again, the dipping sauce is very good. Be sure to order extra.
3. Quesadillas. Another favorite, they do a nice job with both chicken and beef.
4. Shrimp poppers. If you are the mood for served hot fried shrimp bits, this is very good. But the portion size is large, and that can be a lot of fried food, especially if you order another fried appetizer like the sweet potato fries.

I've had good experience with the burgers as well. Overall, we like it and are regulars.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eshetney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Skip this place for Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We had the misfortune of choosing Sarna's for our New Year's Day Brunch. It was a dissapointment to say the least. At $15,99 pp we expected a much better quality of food , especially on a Holiday Brunch. Cheesy hashbrowns and eggs benedict were good, Prime Rib was no more than a hunk of well done roast beef-however I asked the cook for rare and he brought a thin meduim piece on a side plate to our table. The fried chicken was Banquet style frozen and the danish were directly from Sam's Club. You will have a much better breakfast at Perkins and will save enough money to pick up a bag of groceries for later in the day.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nemplsmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You will be sorry!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Hit the buffet on 7/24/11 at 12 noon. This food was inedible. Dead dry eggs, low grade fatty bacon, gravy made of flour and water, super tough prime rib, and some old looking ribs from the previous week. I have seen better food served at the Hennepin County Jail. DON'T GO THERE OR YOU WILL BE SORRY. I really think the "good" reviews on this site were planted there by management.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icandoallthings777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great menu Awesome staff Accessible”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This has become a "go to" spot for our family, even though it is just a few years old.
The serving staff are terrific - if the hostess sees you coming with anyone with a wheelchair, walker, etc she is right at the door to hold it, immediately offers seating in the lobby & figures out the best restaurant seating for your group (table, booth, patio or high-top.)
In this day & age of lists & waiting, they actually encourage reservations.
And the food - prime rib on Fridays & Saturdays, great Sunday brunch, interesting menu.
Especially favored by our group - pecan-crusted walleye, dinner-sized salads, pastas with great homemade sauces, Juicy Lucy burgers. Full bar as well, with some local brews on tap. Menus on line.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sewhappy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarna's Classic Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sarna's Classic Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing