We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Dog Friendly?"”

Hidden Haven Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cohasset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Haven Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cohasset
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Dog Friendly?"”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The positive of this resort is that it has wonderful cabins. They have everything you need in them and are much nicer than any other cabin rentals we have stayed in. They are also very clean.

The negative is the dog friendliness of the resort. Our family plans a summer vacation for the family that includes the dog vacationing. This means the dogs get to run around and play and swim. This is not acceptable at this resort. The resort allows dogs in the cabins, but is very strict about obeying leash laws and having the dogs monitored quietly in the cabins.

It is a great resort for those who are not dog lovers.

One other watch out is the beach. The shoreline is nice and sandy. The water is very shallow allowing kids to play pretty freely with a slide in the shallow waters. But, the water is pretty mushy and weedy one you get two feet off the shoreline.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Km1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbyboy62, Owner at Hidden Haven Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind words on the cabins. I'm sorry you didn't feel our resort is pet-friendly. Since we have guests staying with us that do not bring pets, our pet policy is designed to try to accommodate all of our guests. Allowing dogs to run freely throughout the resort is not something that will work for the majority of people. Frankly, this is the first feedback we have had of this nature. Most people are very glad that we accept pets and are happy to abide by the policy so that they can bring their pets with them and understand that a resort full of dogs running off the leash is a recipe for chaos, particularly when the resort is being shared by non-pet owners, too. I have done a significant amount of research and am unable to find a resort in northern MN with a pet policy that allows dogs to be off the leash except when in a specially designated area. The policy, however, should not have been a surprise since it is posted on our website, at our front desk and is sent out with the guest's confirmation letter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    2
    1
    8
See reviews for
28
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hidden Haven is a quiet, restful resort amongst mature trees. The cabins were very well kept, with al the appliances and utensils needed to cook or charcoal grill for the week. The beds were very comfortable.
The beach was great for our grandkids, 2-12, with a large slide, kayaks, water bikes, paddle boat and surf boards, which were free for use when they were available. The kids enjoyed collecting snails and crayfish, and the water was crystal clear.
Bob and Katie and their kids were great hosts to our family of 12. We appreciated that all of the resorts' rules and charges were established and well communicated up front. Bob and Katie were always available to answer questions and provide services, while respecting the privacy of our family. They clearly put a lot of thought and effort into the resort events that brought cabin neighbors together in the evenings, if guests so desired.
The lake is a good fishing lake for the experienced fisherman. Our family caught walleye, northern, large mouth bass, small mouth bass, perch, rock bass, and sunfish, during our stay. Like all clear water lakes the fishing was best during the low light periods of early morning and late evenings. We enjoyed our stay so much at Hidden Haven that we made reservations for the same cabin for our 2014 summer vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We loved this place! The cabin was very spacious and clean. The kitchen was well equipped. Loved the beach, it was very "kid friendly". All the other families who were down at the beach at the same time as we were would greet the kids and all the kids would play on the beach or in the water together. Would definitely go back for another week!

Arizona travelers

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We give our stay at Hidden Haven a 5-star rating. Our cabin was exceptionally clean and generously furnished for a top-of-the-line stay. Bob and Katie were gracious hosts, ready to accommodate us at every turn. Their resort policies are firm, for the benefit of all. We had a pet-friendly cabin for our Bichon, and it was our responsibility to see that she obeyed their rules. Our stay could not have been more pleasant. We're going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRESTON
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to my favorite place on the planet for at least the 20th time over the last several years. During this span there have been three different owners of this wondeful place. The first two were friendly, welcoming people and Bob and Katie are exceptional. From the time we got to the resort until we left we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and friendly service of a high quality facility. We have brought our family with us many times and they come on their own now that they are adults. Never in all the years we have come to Hidden Haven have we ever been anything but totally happy with our vacation. The fishing was great again this year as usual. The weather could have been warmer, but it did not matter. I would highly recommend this resort to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHEILA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have stayed up at Hidden Haven the last two years with a large family group on an annual grouse hunting trip. Finding a cabin large enough to accommodate hunting dogs and twelve guys is almost impossible, which makes these large, spacious cabins a great find. The bedrooms are large comfortable and well tucked away from the large living quarters, which is great for a group that has some early sleepers and early risers. The kitchen is large and open and well appointed with pots, pans, utensils, etc. and is GREAT for making a large meal (which we always do) and the dining table seats all twelve hungry guys. There is also a great deck facing the lake that is great for cigar smokers and evening under the stars. Inside, the living room is large and comfortable sporing a gas fireplace and cable TV, which is great for watching the MLB playoffs in the evenings.
I have read some of the other reviews and am surprised to see people less than enthused about their interactions with the owners. I personally have found Bob and his wife Katie to be very pleasant and extremely accommodating. Bob has been great at getting in my reservation and taking care of our group. He has been up early to accommodate our 8 AM arrival and let us into the cabin before his traditional check in time for a quick breakfast before our first day of hunting (obviously that is going to be tied to availability, but he doesn't have to do it). Bob has also provided us with some things for forgot to ask for in advance, including extra chairs for the deck, charcoal for the grill, and a second coffee maker (12 guys drink a lot of Joe). Plus, Bob returns calls and emails to help me get set up, answer my questions, and help me get what I need.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We chose Hidden Haven Resort for a two-week family vacation with our adult children because of the location, the reputation of Bass Lake for fishing and because it is a pet-friendly resort. I'm glad I didn't read the some of the reviews on this site, because we might not have chosen Hidden Haven -- and that would have been a big mistake. We have been staying at resorts in Northern Minnesota for over 30 years. This was one our best experiences at a resort in all that time. All four of us had a great time.
My wife and I came with our special needs daughter, our older son and his dog. We read and followed the pet policy. Not only did we not have any problems, but the owners always stopped and greeted our dog with a friendly pet.
We had a three bedroom pet-accepting cabin near the lake. The view was beautiful from the very large deck. The cabin was spacious and well equipped. Even the bathroom (often cramped in resort cabins) had plenty of room and the tub/shower easily accommodated my 270-lb frame.
Bob, Katie and their staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Bob not only cleaned our fish, but showed my son how to filet a Northern Pike to minimize the bones. He fueled our boat twice within an hour of our asking, even though we weren't in a hurry. And he worked diligently to solve a clogged sewer pipe in our cabin, down to taking apart our bathroom while we were out fishing to finally find a comb a previous renter had flushed down the toilet.
Fishing was slow for some species because of the time of year, but the pike were biting. A real thrill to boat a big pike!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigkahunaiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cohasset
11.7 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
12.1 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
68 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
21 reviews
11.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Haven Resort

Property: Hidden Haven Resort
Address: 31516 Malbay Road, Cohasset, MN 55721-2092
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cohasset
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cohasset
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing