We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hidden Haven Resort
Nearby Hotels
Forest Lake Motel(Grand Rapids)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Itascan Motel(Grand Rapids)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rapids(Grand Rapids)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Grand Rapids(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$110
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Grand Rapids(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
28
1
2
1
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
1
2
1
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 40 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I was part of that troublesome family having our yearly reunion at Hidden Haven Resort. I was staying in the cabin he had to fumigate and was also present during the entire altercation over the 3lb. stray dog. The dog was carried in and out. It's feet never touched a surface in that cabin save for the bathtub, which was thoroughly scoured out immediately. Had Bob been a little more compassionate towards both people and dogs, we might have come back again. Oh wait, we're one of those parties you don't want back!

Finally, my mother-in-law paid over $5000 for a 3 night stay using 9 cabins. Then Bob has the nerve to call the sheriff over an unpaid bill for $53! Really Bob? The sheriff had to call on behalf of Hidden Haven Resort and it just made a bad situation worse for all concerned.

Personal note to Bob: You're not doing yourself any favors by responding to guests the way you do both in person at the resort and afterwords online.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank mranderson43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbyboy62, Owner at Hidden Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

The reviewer's mother-in-law paid for the cabin rentals for the families and any incidental charges (bait, ice, pet fees, etc.) were to be paid by the individual families. The individual did not pay his pet fees and did not respond to repeated messages that were left for him so we turned the matter over to the Itasca County Sheriff. Regardless of how much the cost of the cabins was, that does not entitle someone to not pay legitimate charges that they agreed to pay at check-in. We have a signed registration card from the individual stating that he acknowledged and agreed to the pet fees that he skipped out on. You don't go to the grocery store and buy $200 of groceries and then tell the grocer that you aren't going to pay for the bag of potatoes because you've already spent $200 and you think that that should be enough. He or she would call the police as you walked out with the potatoes. It's no different in this situation.

The reviewer believes I should have shown more compassion towards a stray dog. That is his/her right. It is also my right and responsibility to set the rules on how pets are handled on my property so that pet and non-pet owners alike can enjoy the facilities and when those rules are broken to assess the risk to other guests and in this case, demand that the stray dog be removed from my property. Common courtesy dictates that we should have been asked permission prior to a stray dog being brought not only on the resort grounds but in a cabin. For the reviewer to assume that how he/she would handle a stray in his/her own home is the same as at a resort, where other guests are present, is lacking common sense of any kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Bob and Katie provided a 5 star experience. They are some of the finest people we have ever met. We'll definitely be back. Cabin and surroundings were spectacular. Loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jplarrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

LET’S GET THIS STRAIGHT. Hidden Haven is a gorgeous resort in northern Minnesota! We were extremely happy with the accommodations. The cabins are up-to-date, well decorated and HUGE. The main living area had an open kitchen with a full fridge, dishwasher, and very large pine table with benches for large families, and a L-shaped sectional couch with a gas fireplace for hanging out. It opens out to a large deck where we enjoyed grilling. There were four bedrooms (two with two doubles, two with queen beds) and two bathrooms. They were clean, modern and the beds were excellent. Like fishing? Hidden Haven is on Big Bass Lake, which has 2400 acres of varied structure which holds many species of fish. I caught smallmouth, the biggest bluegills I have ever seen, and northern. Didn’t get any walleye, but they’re there. Our kids LOVED the beach. They had sand toys, kayaks, a water bike, a paddle board, and a paddle boat. They played all day down there. My wife comfortably watched sitting in one of the many Adirondack chairs. “When can we go back?” they keep saying. As far as the service, I don’t understand why other responses had problems with Bob and Katie Barton. They were gracious and helpful hosts. Just great people. I would highly recommend Hidden Haven for anyone that wants beautiful accommodations, great service on a good fishing lake. A+++++

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luddie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Hidden Haven is a beautiful, well-kept resort. Bob seems to be a good natured, well mannered individual ............until there is a conflict . We had a pretty mellow, family reunion that occupied 9 of the cabins for 3 nights. I think about a third of our group had a bit of a gruff confrontation with Bob. All had some merit to be addressed, yet he does it in a condescending way. When we told him our feelings, he doesn't come close to humbling, but gets defensive. Not really the personality you'd expect from a successful resort owner. Sad to see such a nice place get a bad rap. I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jpahl5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbyboy62, Owner at Hidden Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2011

The reviewer conveniently fails to leave out what the issue was that led to the problem. The reviewer or someone in their group brought a stray dog that they found along the side of the road into the resort that, by their own admission, was covered in fleas, ticks and mud and took it into one of our cabins and bathed it without asking permission to do so or stopping to think about the ramifications of their actions. Here are the facts surrounding the problem.

1) The "stray" they found was most likely one of my neighbors' dogs. Itasca County does not have a leash law outside of the city limits of any of the towns or cities. People up here tend to let their dogs run free. Many do not have collars or tags. That doesn't make them strays. The reviewer planned taking the dog home with them because we don't have a humane society up here anymore and as they told us "God had led them to that dog." I wonder how the owner of the dog would feel about that.

2) The reveiwer had no idea of the health condition of the animal and didn't give a second thought to what diseases could have been brought into one of our cabins or what our other guests could have been exposed to. What would have happened if that dog had rabies and bit another one of our guests? What would have happened if the cabin became infested with fleas or lice? The reviewer had no concern at all for anyone else's safety or comfort.

3) Not knowing what was brought into the cabin caused us to incur significant additional costs to have the carpet, upholstery and bedding professionally cleaned so that the cabin was ready for the next guest. I sure that this would have been something the reviewer would have been unwilling to pay for. Luckily we were able to have this done prior to the arrival of the next guest. Had we not I'm also sure the reviewer would have been unwilling to pay for the lost revenue to us and would not have cared about ruining the vacation of the next party coming in if the cabin would have been unoccupiable.

4) I did tell them that the dog had to leave the property immediately and this is where they felt I was being rude. If just because they didn't hear what they wanted to hear, which was "Sure, the stray dog covered in ticks and fleas is welcome in one of our cabins." makes me rude, then so be it. Obviously, in the mind of the reviewer, regardless of how outrageous, inconsiderate or disrespectful their behavior was, we had no right to be upset by it.

We had numerous complaints about this group from our other guests. The complaints included noise (loud music, yelling and loud voices at 2:00AM), inebriated people sitting on the decks of cabins they hadn't rented, the group leaving garbage everywhere, etc. We spent the three days they were here picking up garbage behind this group. If they drank a can of pop, they dropped it where they finished it. Same for candy wrappers, drink boxes, paper plates, etc. Every morning we had to clean the beach of trash that was left from the night before. Every morning we had to clean out the fire pits to remove the dozens of bottles and cans that were thrown in there the night before. If asking people to pick up their messes and to not throw bottles and cans in the fire pits is being rude then we will continure to be rude.

Upon starting to clean the cabins, we discovered in Cabin 12 that someone in the reviewer's party had decided to spit phlegm wads all over the walls, tub/shower walls, shower curtain and vanity in the bathroom. Regardless of whether they agreed with me about the dog issue, this was disgusting, brutish behavior.

Lastly, the reviewer leaves out that members of thier party skipped out on paying their bills for pet fees, ice and bait.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was our second trip to Hidden Haven Resort and once again we had a great time and enjoyed our stay. The cabins are large, very clean, and up-to-date. We loved hearing the loons throughout the day. The management Bob and Katie are great as well. They are very willing to assist whenever needed. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hahn102406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews