We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could rate lower I would...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cloquet
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We checked in on a Thursday confirmed we were staying tell Sunday. On Saturday we get a call saying we left our stuff behind, when I tell patty that we staying tell Sunday she rudely says well we don't have any rooms sorry. When we came to get our stuff I asked for a manager and would you look at that no one was on staff Saturday. The absolute worst customer service! I will never be going to this location or any other branch for americinn.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hreink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was flying into Duluth, MN late on Friday August 2nd, to meet up with my vacationing family. My wife went and checked into the Americinn at Cloquet, MN earlier in the day and got our key cards and drop off a few things. My flight was later than planned, but we finally got to the Inn at 2:30 AM. We tried to enter the Inn at a side door using our room keys, but the keys did not work. So we went in through the front desk door, no one was there. We made our way to the room and tried to open the door to our room, our key cards did not work there either. Went to the front desk to get some help where we were greeted with two sheet of paper that read "Helping another patron, be back soon" and "In case of an emergency call XXX-XXXX". Not wanting to mess around, we called the number making the phone in the next room ring off the hook, no one came for over ten minutes. When the night clerk did come in, he was confused as why his phone, that was ringing off the hook in the next room did not work. The next morning I planned on discussing the issue from the previous night with a manager only to fine out there was none; only a couple of young "adults" manning the Inn. When I informed them of our dilemma when we arrived the previous night, we got a few insincere "sorries" and no other actions. We paid well over $120 for this one bed room. If the "Inn" wants top dollar rates, then they better offer top dollar service. If you want your money's worth, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yendor_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ended up staying here because the other AmericInn in Carlton - where we had an advance reservation made - suddenly told us their staff messed up and gave away all their rooms, which was absolutely REDICULOUS.
The only downside of this place was the evening staffer named Junior. He seemed curteous, but he was practically whispering everything. I have good hearing, but could barely hear him. I was with 2 people who are older, with greater sound level requirements, and we had to ask him, "What?" 3 times every time he said something. Geeze, that gets old! When we tried to call to set up a wake up call, we had to call 3 times before he answered.
The rooms were great. Very nice and clean. Even nice decor with black and white pictures. Nice firm beds, very quiet. Big fridge, a microwave. Didn't have time to check out the pool+hot tub. Breakfast was fairly nice. Of course the eggs were those weird not really egg type of things that probably are made from wheat powder and God knows what else. They had a very weird, chewy texture, and were formed into circular shapes, so skip those. What is so hard about just using regular eggs?
Large eating area with tables and chairs to accommodate enough people. Very nice.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the AmericInn on our way to Duluth to see the Tall Ships. The staff was very courteous, check in was easy, and room was comfortable and clean. We also visited the pool and hottub during our visit. Breakfast was great! I would highly recommended staying here if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed here for years.This time not so great.Walking into my room abunch of people staying at motel smoking and blocking entrance.No shirts on dirty clothes.Not my type.I found room dated but clean.
The breakfast was very good.Waffle mix not watered down like a lot of inns.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My son's high school hockey team plays in a tournament in Cloquet every July. Many of the parents stay at the AmericInn every year because it is clean, quiet, and a mile from the ice arena. The staff is courteous, the hotel has a nice pool, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. There's a Perkins next door and you get 10% off when you show your room key. This also applies to Applebee's down the street. The free breakfast in the morning is good- eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, fruit, yogurt, pastries, toast, cereal, a few different kinds of coffee. There's a large grocery store (SuperOne) across the street, with an adjoining liquor store. I had a billing issue, and the manager, Gloria, was great in resolving it. I've stayed here the last two summers, and I plan on staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNdawnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This motel was a really nice surprise. It was quiet, clean, did not smell, and had basic features we needed. The beds were not too firm and not too soft. We even had a couple types of pillows to choose from that were on the bed. The sheets were not scratchy and everyone actually slept! If quiet is important to you, choose the second floor. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and kind. The continental breakfast was far better than the usual. It seemed like everyone in the hotel was there enjoying it! My only complaint is that the bathroom was tiny- just big enough to get clothes on and off for a shower. In the scope of things, though, that wasn't a big deal. There are several restaurants nearby as well as a grocery store. Don't miss eating at Gordy's which is just down the road. Duluth is just a short drive up 35. :)

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room on the second floor furthest away from the road (33).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet

Address: 111 Big Lake Rd, Cloquet, MN 55720-2616
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cloquet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cloquet
Price Range: $94 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Cloquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing