We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Chanhassen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Chanhassen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chanhassen
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We liked this hotel, not luxury but clean and quiet. The breakfast area was really nice...much better than most hotels. It also helps that the hotel is only three stories high, so there isn't a huge crowd for breakfast. breakfast items were the standard SAD diet (Standard American Diet)...sugary cereals, muffins, peanut butter, waffles. (Never can understand why people think a bowl of fruit loops is adequate nutrition for a growing child). I was glad they offered hard boiled eggs. They have a nice gas fireplace going (helpful in the horrendously long winter we are having). The view was of trees, and there are wetlands/ponds nearby.

The beds were comfy, not pillow top though. One thing that bugged me was that they had feather comforters on top of the flat sheet, but no duvet! So, you are sleeping with the comforter not being covered after each and every other hotel guest moves through. There was a polyester spread over that.

Okay, here is what you are supposed to do with feather comforters (since the hotel doesn't seem to know this)...cover them with white/off white cotton duvets, so that can double as a bedspread as well. You can add a blanket or have them available if the feather comforter isn't warm enough, but most likely no one would need anything else, as the heating system was very easily adjusted. That way, you can change the duvet after each hotel guest, so that no one has to touch the comforter surface that someone else has. All the better hotels do this now... in Europe, they don't even give you a flat sheet which is really not necessary.

Also liked that the hotel was not directly off the freeway, but in a nice shopping area with a large diversity of community living, swimming school, yoga studio, restaurants, etc. Nice mix.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Chanhassen, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! I have noted your advise regarding our bedding, and will pass it along to the brand. I am glad that your found our hotel to be warm and inviting, and thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers! Please come back and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    46
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
70
38
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here while visiting relatives in the area. Took advantahe of the great, buy ahead Senior rates. That's a gamble, as we flew in from Michigan in March with no control of airlines or weather, but it paid off.
Our room adjoined the room of another family member. It was very quiet as we were in the wing near the exercise room. There's actually a "garage" across the hall where snow removal, etc equipment is stored. Have to admit, we've never experienced that in a hotel before.
The room was clean and comfortable. There's a refrigerator and coffee maker. The mattresses in our 2 queen bed room were comfortable .
Breakfast was very good for the price. There were actually MORE choices here than at a Fairfiled Inn we just stayed in in Indiana for $30 more a night! In fact, THIS hotel offered a fridge, safe and separate sink area that the Fairlfield Inn didn't ! Too bad there wasn't an Americinn in the Indy area we needed.
We asked if we could bring our 2 1/2 and 5 yr old grandchildren to swim with us. The manager thanked us for asking and did allow this. The pool is not heated or if it is, it wasn't very warm. The 5 year old still loved it. There were towels, hot tub and a sauna available , also. It was all clean.
Staff here is great, from the desk, to everyone involved who we met.
The location is VERY good for others, too. It's close to the Chanhassen Dinner Theater and a short drive to the University Of Minnesota Arboreatum which is a wonderful place to visit.Many restaurants are close by. It's also easy to get to MSP from here. Takes about 20 minutes or so , if traffic isn't bad.
We WILL definitely stay here again. Thanks to all who helped make our 3 night stay so comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside of the L. The West side of the building runs parallel to a very busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stategt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Chanhassen, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
WOW! Thank you so much for such a fantastic review! Making your stay comfortable and fun is our goal, and I'm more than pleased with my staff for making this happen. I very much look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My friends and I stayed at your lovely motel before going to Ikea and the Science Museum. It was nicely decorated, very clean, and the rooms were quiet. The breakfast was awesome-so many items to choose from and my favorite was the waffels with strawberries and whipped cream. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Chanhassen, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing the AmericInn during your trip to the science museum! I am more than pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast! There will be plently of waffles waiting for you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I travel to the area several times a year for work and am very happy I started staying at this hotel on my last few visits. It is well conveniently located near restaurants and I can walk across the parking lot to Houlihans for a quick dinner then get back and catch up on emails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Chanhassen, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for you nice comments. I'm glad we can continue to give you great customer service, and an atmosphere where you can get some work done! Thank you for your continued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband & I enjoyed our stay in a suite that included a king size bed, fireplace, whirlpool and sitting room. We LOVED the whirlpool and fireplace! The TVs seemed a bit small but they were sufficient for the task. We hooked up our laptop using the HDMI hookups (hope I'm saying that correctly) so that we could watch some movies we brought along and that worked well.

The lobby area with books, couches and other amenities was nice. LOVED the wonderful choice of coffees and hot water, too! The staff were friendly and accommodating.

We ordered food from Houlihan's restaurant (across the street) and they were really quick to deliver it to the hotel besides offering an excellent chicken caesar salad. Oh, and the complimentary breakfast at the hotel was AWESOME ~ sausage links and those egg patties were my favorites! Nice to see a variety of foods from your famous Belgian waffles to muffins, cereal, yogurt, fruit, cottage cheese and a variety of drinks. Yummy!

Overall, we'd highly recommend this AmericInn to other couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaStorySaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Chanhassen, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello! I am so glad you and your husband had a great weekend here with us. Yes, you used the terminology correctly with the HDMI! That made me chuckle....

Thank you for reccomending us! Please come back and relax again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived with two charter busses of high school choir students. And, this hotel went above and beyond to make our stay memorable.

My handicapped mother and I were wonderfully taken care of. The manager, Matt, and his assistants made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable.

I know our kids were not perfect. But this did not stop the staff from let us store the music instruments over night inside because of the below freezing temperatures. They even prepared and opened the breakfast an hour early to make sure the kids had an opportunity to get a bite to eat before their first performance.

Speaking of breakfast, wow!!! The hot meal changed everyday and was splendid. All in all, the rooms and public spaces were spotless. Loved the pool/spa room! The employees were kind and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. I had the best time in Minnesota!!!!

Room Tip: The handicap room we stayed in was spacious and accomodated all of our need. We were in a corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmgIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Chanhassen, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! It was wonderful to have your group here, and it was a joy to meet you and your mother. If your in the area again, please come see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had approximately 20 rooms reserved for our wedding and everyone commented on the friendliness and courtesy of the staff. The hotel is very nice and is up-to-date with all the ammenties. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a king-size suite with whirlpool tub and fireplace. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNbikerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu M, General Manager at AmericInn Chanhassen, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
THANK YOU! Your reccomendation goes a long way. I'm more than pleased with my staff that we were able to assist in such a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chanhassen
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen
0.2 mi away
Chanhassen Inn
Chanhassen Inn
#3 of 4 in Chanhassen
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chanhassen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Oak Ridge Hotel and Conference Center
6.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Chaska
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Eden Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Chanhassen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Chanhassen

Property: AmericInn Chanhassen
Address: 570 Pond Promenade, Chanhassen, MN 55317-8311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Chanhassen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chanhassen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Chanhassen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Chanhassen include updated furnishings, room décor, flat screen TV’s and cozy Serta® Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Chanhassen hotel is conveniently located at the corner of Hwy 5 & Market Boulevard. We are the most convenient option for travelers visiting the Chanhassen Dinner Theatre and we are only minutes from the Minnesota Renaissance Festival, downtown Minneapolis, ValleyFair Amusement Park and Canterbury Park. The Minnesota Zoo, Mystic Lake Casino, Mall of America and many other attractions are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Chanhassen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing