We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the best Mexican food in the Twin Cities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rey Azteca Mexican Restaurant

Rey Azteca Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Chanhassen
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some of the best Mexican food in the Twin Cities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food here is great,they have a lot of different dishes and they do them very well.My wife and I like authentic Mexican and this place is our favorite.The recent remodel adds plenty of charm and atmosphere.The margaritas are pretty good also.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey for Mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The food is good, authentic atmosphere, nice employees...but it's a bit pricey we felt. Better deals for lunch but hubby and I stopped in for dinner the other night....bypassed the entrees for $12 or more and opted for ala carte...spendy there too. His item (3 cheese enchiladas) were small and overpriced(recall they were $9) and I got 2 mushroom/cheese quesadillas which were excellent but not for $9 as I recall. The restaurant appears to do a brisk business and I'm very happy about that, but as two retirees who eat out a lot and are used to south Texas authentic Mexican food for good price, this restaurant is too overpriced......I do imagine they have high overhead costs in Chanhassen location however.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dontlikesnow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perham, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic and plenty of food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I found that the portions here were plentiful. My brother ordered a burrito that was double the size you get at Chipotle and I had two quesadillas, which I ended up bringing one home. Yes, the food doesn't come seasoned, but they give you the option of putting on your own sauces.

Very busy place, but we didn't mind. The staff was very friendly, even though we didn't see our server much. It was fun that they had an authentic band playing music. It really added to the atmosphere.

It's worth a try!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KristineS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
261 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Seems authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very popular. Good prices and excellent food. Lots of choices, including some unusual ones. Very efficient staff and friendly service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save yourself, go to Taco Bell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I can't believe the good reviews on this. The food is very bland. The portions are not generous. Service is ok at best. I would never recommend this place to anyone. Maybe the good reviews were by people that had several drinks?

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TurtleRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rey Azteca Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rey Azteca Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing