We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful summer flowers!”

Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Chanhassen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful summer flowers!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a hot summer day and enjoyed walking through the gardens. The peonies were past their prime, but the asiatic lilies were just coming into theirs! Beautiful walk, and lovely 3-mile drive through the grounds. While the one time entry is a bit expensive, annual member price is definitely a good value if you want to return to see the rest of the flowers as they bloom!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DSHMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    68
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I like this place, but it is only just flowers and plants, after all...”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Maybe it's because it just isn't my thing, but there's only so much I can do with acres of flowers and plants, trees and shrubs. If you love those things, you'll love this place. I merely like it. Memberships are reasonably priced; one-time fees are a bit high but you can put it toward a annual membership after your day is done. The staff are all excellent and happy to help you learn or just to chat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Locarno64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, MN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great visit even on a cool and rainy day! This place goes on and on. The gardens are amazing and the 3 mile drive was interesting too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JillySTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited the Arboretum Memorial weekend. The tulips were in bloom, the crabapples were in bloom. Due to the late spring, there was not a rose in bloom. The grounds are unbelieveably beautiful. Many of the paths were all paved and the others are very easy to walk on. Wear comfortable shoes. There was a small footbridge and fence that was made of branches roped together. Another path over a little creek had round disks cut from trees as stepping stones. There is a three mile driving tour that takes one all around the Arboretum with places to park along the way. There is a sculptor garden with many pieces of art. There is also a maze to wander through. Most of the plants were labeled so you know what they are. I have been to several gardens and this is by far one of the best. We also ate lunch there. The food was very good and fresh. Although, the daily menu said one kind of soup which I was hoping to savor, it had been replaced with other kind of soup when I went to get a cup. There is plenty of seating for lunch. Take a few hours and enjoy walking around the Arboretum. It is breezy there so you might like a light jacket.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyjo204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very nice way to spend a day”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I've attended two weddings here. The flower gardens etc. are gorgeous. The facilities are good for catering events. I liked the food at the first wedding but not the second one (chicken was dry and pesto pasta flavorless). As an attraction, however, the arboretum cannot be matched. I can see how young children might get bored and you should probably wear comfortable shoes and sunscreen.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Knutey1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota Landscape Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota Landscape Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing