We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum

Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I like to go here for walks. There is a three mile, paved loop through the arboretum, and it is a great way to get some exercise while enjoying the gorgeous plants and trees. The gift shop is also excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maddie4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    57
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mound, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something for everyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Visited the Arboretum several times, always doing their spring Bud Run fund raiser until becoming a member a year ago. The different displays in the great hall and lower level art gallery are usually interesting and well done. We've enjoyed the Mill City Farmer's Market there, orchid shows, musical performances, the lovely huge wooden lathe work of a local artist/craftsman, watching the maple syrup process in the spring.
The gardens include a maze for children. One drawback is accessibility, All though there is an elevator, it can be hard work for the elderly to get up the stairs to the building and walk the distance to the elevator. Considering the stairs and distance, it would be great if there were a wheel chair or two available. Also, the limited seats in the great hall make it impossible for an old person to find a seat during weekends or other busy times. We just renewed our membership and use it well!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mlmound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful blend of beauty and science”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful section of the university botany department that is open to the public. The per car fee is reasonable. The scale and ambition of the Arboretum is significant.
Taste and rate apples to help them decide if a new apple should go to market, enjoy the beautiful gardens and delightful buildings, enjoy a pretty good cafe upstairs.
Thumbs up from our kids too, aged 7-13.

Helpful?
Thank 1dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin cities minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful, quiet and serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place to bring a sandwich and have a picnic lunch. I work nearby and we oftern grab a Jimmy Joh.s sandwich and enjoyt the beautiful landscaping.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler2256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My friend and I took this tour, as his parents enjoyed it. Had a beautiful sunny day, and took the tram. A great way to experience the fall season, and they decorated the grounds beautifully.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota Landscape Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota Landscape Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing