We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Evening”

Chanhassen Dinner Theatres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chanhassen Dinner Theatres is the nation’s largest Equity (professional status) dinner theatre company featuring multiple stages under one roof. In addition, CDT is Minnesota’s only year-round musical theatre and the largest tourist attraction in Carver County. Founded in 1968, Chanhassen is a producing theatre, completely creating and executing all production elements in the theatres’ own on-site scene, costume and properties shops by its own creative design team led by Resident Artistic Director Michael Brindisi.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My "guy friend" and I celebrated our 15 month anniversary when I was in town last week. He got great seats for us, and the house specialty, the Chanhassen Chicken Dinner was great. We saw
Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. The costumes, singing, and dancing were great. If you are in the area, you must stop here. Can't wait to go there again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    95
    19
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I believe this is one of only a few dinner theatres in the country. The performances are always wonderful. We started going here when I was a child many many years ago, and I don't think the decor has changed at all, but that doesn't matter, because of the awesome performances. The food is standard banquet food, so it's not great, but that doesn't matter either. In general, this is a great experience!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiHarrisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pingree, North Dakota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went to the Comedy show and it was very good they are very talented and witty would recommend to others

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrsc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Joseph in Technicolor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Chanhassen Dinner Theater does a good job for what it is, a run of the mill dinner theater. The steak is good as long as you order it on the rare side (otherwise, shoe leather), the mash potatoes are real mashed and definitely not from a bag. Desserts are fancy in name, but run of the mill in taste. They do put on a good show. Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dream Coats was well done, high energy, but shortened for the venue. I personally did not care for the "Aw Sucks" act Joseph did, but that could be the role rather then the acting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FUN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I loved it! We saw Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat and it was Phenomenal! I recommend it to everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank techie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanhassen Dinner Theatres also viewed

 

Been to Chanhassen Dinner Theatres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing