We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome family night out!”

Chanhassen Dinner Theatres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chanhassen Dinner Theatres is the nation’s largest Equity (professional status) dinner theatre company featuring multiple stages under one roof. In addition, CDT is Minnesota’s only year-round musical theatre and the largest tourist attraction in Carver County. Founded in 1968, Chanhassen is a producing theatre, completely creating and executing all production elements in the theatres’ own on-site scene, costume and properties shops by its own creative design team led by Resident Artistic Director Michael Brindisi.
La Crescent, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An awesome family night out!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

These people know how to put on a show! Our dinner was delicious - I highly recommend the Chanhassen Chicken. The show was awesome - it was a very cozy atmosphere and it felt very intimate. It was a great experience all around!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank notshyaboutopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    98
    22
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We've been going to the CDT for years and have always been pleased. We've gone to their last six shows, including their most recent, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dream coat. It is as lively and as colorful as anything CDT has done. We are always impressed with the wealth of talent on display at this iconic dinner theater. And, while the dinner itself isn't the attraction, it is surprisingly good. In the past we've always been seated in a booth for four people and they're pretty comfortable. There really isn't a bad seat in the house but this time there were six of us and we opted for a table on the main floor. While being in the front row was fun, there isn't much room to turn your chair toward the stage and it was a little uncomfortable. Despite that, this is a terrific night out at a very affordable price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fobisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Always A Good Show”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We go here once or twice a year to see the different plays in the main theater. We usually go to celebrate a birthday or anniversary and we always enjoy ourselves

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dllrschll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
“Fantastic Theatre”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been to the Chanhassen Dinner Theatre many times over the years. The shows are amazing and the is not a bad seat in the house. The entertainment is top notch. I have seen shows the Ordway and Orpheum in St.Paul and Minneapolis and shows in NY. The shows performed at the Chanhassen are just as great a quality. If you love the theatre, you will not be disappointed. What a great place! If you go, you are in for a treat. (I should also say I have only seen shows in the main theatre.)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HuskyFriend555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,819 reviews
972 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 928 helpful votes
“Always an enjoyable evening”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have been going to shows here for more than 20 years. Never seen a bad one. Most recently went with spouse, mother and sister to see Bye, Bye Birdie. The cast was great-I was in this musical in high school and was excited to see it. Really enjoyed it. Dinner was also good: we chose shrimp scampi, lasagna, and tilapia. Added an onion rings appetizer. The rings were delicious and hot! Their drinks (martinis, etc) are also very good. Desserts come during the intermission and are large enough to share, especially the chocolate cake or carrot cake.

We look forward to going back for their next main stage show: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dream Coat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanhassen Dinner Theatres also viewed

 

Been to Chanhassen Dinner Theatres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing