We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stepping Back in Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldenburg House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oldenburg House
Save
You added Oldenburg House to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Carlton B&B and Inns
Osage, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stepping Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On stepping into the Oldenburg House, a sense of welcome is immediate. Glen and Helen graciously take you in as if to say "you're home, come in and relax". History is everywhere, in the construction and decor. Outside, the grounds and gardens call to be explored, with paths, old-growth pine, mature trees, and billion-year old rock formations. The setting for this historic home is amazing with access to the Munger Trail, the St. Louis River, Jay Cooke State Park, and the Thompson Reservoir, all near by. And, Duluth is just a short drive away. Helen and Glen provide a delicious home-cooked breakfast, Keurig coffee, along with a cozy bedroom with private bath. The best part of our visit was getting to know Helen and Glen, two kind, generous and interesting people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had the great pleasure staying here last night. The hosts could not have been more welcoming (and fun!). Glenn personally showed me the gorge in the adjoining state park. Mama made me Swedish cookies!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HF_Huddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Both my wife and I had the pleasure, not once, but twice, of attending a fantastic musical experience by world-famous pianist Eric Himy at the Oldenburg House. Both Glenn and Helen, owners/operators of the B&B, did a superb job of having a beautiful grand piano, concert-in-the-round seating, and delicious treats for the concert attendees. The setting for this piano recital is spectacular: wooded grounds, rolling grass and gardens, beautifully restored mansion. As a B&B, the home is perfect. Highly recommend to anyone. Many thanks to Glenn and Helen for making us both feel welcome.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the perfect location for EVERYTHING!!!! I attended the SolFest Concert and stayed at the Bed and Breakfast. This property is so beautiful inside and out! Set on acres of land and at the edge of the Jay Cooke State Park just footsteps from the lake and the river, I never need to go anywhere else to retreat. And did I mention the Concert/ Fest?! I cannot wait for next year- June 28th cannot come soon enough! This place is a magical must see. I want to have a retreat there and invite a huge group of friends and family (10 +); it's perfect for a wedding or huge party with space for over 1000 people on the property; and I hope they have concerts there more than once a year!!! I'm going back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRich_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our twenty-plus wedding anniversary in May at the Oldenburg House. Shortly after arrival, hiked through the woods and caught site of a of white tail deer threesome. The yard and surrounding area is beautiful. We echo the other reviews reflecting the graciousness of hosts Glenn and Helen. The breakfast was delicious and the fruit was fresh. We are planning our return this fall.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandelamancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in May 2013, while hiking trails in the area (Munger, Carlton, various Duluth trails). Hosts Glenn and his mother Helen couldn't have been more welcoming, it was a real pleasure to meet them, and their fine old house is a delight. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone interested in this beautiful area, or even for exploring Duluth which is only 15 minutes away. Good breakfast, comfortable bed, deer running through the back yard, and the Jay Cooke State Park right next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A stay at the Oldenburg House with your delightful hosts Helen and her son Glenn is a treasure not to be missed. My brother and I stayed for 5 nights in early March and it was exactly what we needed. We were visiting my mother who lives in an assisted living facility just a couple miles away. Helen fixed us a delicious breakfast each morning. After a day visiting our mother we'd return In the evening for wonderful conversation (and yes, maybe even a game of scrabble with Helen). I stayed in the Jay Cooke room, which has an extremely comfortable, cozy queen size bed. The large bathroom is just a step across the hall, which I didn't mind at all. My brother stayed in the Oldenburg Suite with it's huge, beautiful bathroom, morning sun, and views of the lovely grounds and Jay Cooke Park beyond. This is a very special place to stay. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Oldenburg Suite doesn't have a shower, so if you're not into only talking baths you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyRut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
4.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#14 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
16.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldenburg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldenburg House

Property: Oldenburg House
Address: 604 Chestnut Avenue, Carlton, MN 55718
Location: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the wilderness of Jay Cooke State Park and the Willard Munger Trail, the Oldenburg House, accompanied by 7 acres of grounds, is nestled within regal nature in its full glory. The location offers privacy, open spaces, secluded paths and nooks, the friendliness of a small town amid the comforts of this historic house and property. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing