We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Concert and Setting were spectacular!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oldenburg House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oldenburg House
Ranked #1 of 2 Carlton B&B and Inns
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Concert and Setting were spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Both my wife and I had the pleasure, not once, but twice, of attending a fantastic musical experience by world-famous pianist Eric Himy at the Oldenburg House. Both Glenn and Helen, owners/operators of the B&B, did a superb job of having a beautiful grand piano, concert-in-the-round seating, and delicious treats for the concert attendees. The setting for this piano recital is spectacular: wooded grounds, rolling grass and gardens, beautifully restored mansion. As a B&B, the home is perfect. Highly recommend to anyone. Many thanks to Glenn and Helen for making us both feel welcome.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the perfect location for EVERYTHING!!!! I attended the SolFest Concert and stayed at the Bed and Breakfast. This property is so beautiful inside and out! Set on acres of land and at the edge of the Jay Cooke State Park just footsteps from the lake and the river, I never need to go anywhere else to retreat. And did I mention the Concert/ Fest?! I cannot wait for next year- June 28th cannot come soon enough! This place is a magical must see. I want to have a retreat there and invite a huge group of friends and family (10 +); it's perfect for a wedding or huge party with space for over 1000 people on the property; and I hope they have concerts there more than once a year!!! I'm going back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRich_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our twenty-plus wedding anniversary in May at the Oldenburg House. Shortly after arrival, hiked through the woods and caught site of a of white tail deer threesome. The yard and surrounding area is beautiful. We echo the other reviews reflecting the graciousness of hosts Glenn and Helen. The breakfast was delicious and the fruit was fresh. We are planning our return this fall.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandelamancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in May 2013, while hiking trails in the area (Munger, Carlton, various Duluth trails). Hosts Glenn and his mother Helen couldn't have been more welcoming, it was a real pleasure to meet them, and their fine old house is a delight. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone interested in this beautiful area, or even for exploring Duluth which is only 15 minutes away. Good breakfast, comfortable bed, deer running through the back yard, and the Jay Cooke State Park right next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just had a great time at Oldenburg House - a grand old mansion in the true bed and breakfast style. My boyfriend and I particularly enjoyed the time we spent with Glenn over a yummy breakfast, he's a wonderful and thoughtful host. We'll definitely be back when it's a little warmer to enjoy the hiking and biking that are right outside the back door.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I just spent a couple days undwinding with friends. We had a great time and were treated like royalty by the proprietors Glen and Helen. This old house is simply beautiful and feels like home. It immediately takes one back to a simpler time and approach to life. It's so close to Duluth and the Black Bear Casino that we could enjoy those venues if we liked but nature was the key on this trip. We walked the most beautiful forest trails along a rugged river gorge. I'll be back again in the spring to bike and canoe. It was just what the doctor ordered!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at the Oldenburg house. We were able to participate in the "Whoville 2012" festivities and enjoy local children choirs in addition to some famous musical artists--Billy Peterson and PipJazz. The back yard of the Oldenburg house has a trail directly into Jay Cooke State park; one of the most beautiful state parks in Minnesota. This is a "must stay" facility for anyone looking to enjoy the beauty of Minnesota.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
4.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Duluth North - Miller Hill
10.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldenburg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldenburg House

Property: Oldenburg House
Address: 604 Chestnut Ave, Carlton, MN 55718-9629
Location: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the wilderness of Jay Cooke State Park and the Willard Munger Trail, the Oldenburg House, accompanied by 7 acres of grounds, is nestled within regal nature in its full glory. The location offers privacy, open spaces, secluded paths and nooks, the friendliness of a small town amid the comforts of this historic house and property. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing