We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will definitely stay here again soon!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I will definitely stay here again soon!”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

First let me make it clear that I am not an avid gambler. My wife and I went to the Black Bear Casino looking for a weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. We really enjoyed the experience. We stayed in the new tower and the room was very nice. The bed was not as comfortable as I expected from some other reviewer's comments. It was ok though, just not quite as good as my bed at home. We had a disability accessible room. The room had a deep bathtub with lots of grab bars. A walk-in shower would have been better for our needs. We really enjoyed the buffet. Friday night's buffet featured prime rib and shrimp. Both were very good. The carver served thick slabs of prime rib and it was medium rare just as I like it. We did visit the casino and found the video poker machines to be no more stingy than those we have played in Las Vegas. My wife came out a little ahead and I lost a little. Oh, and the drive up there from the twin cities was gorgeous. The first weekend in Oct was the prefect time for a spectacular display of fall colors.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank treebeard46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    135
    86
    44
    78
See reviews for
138
164
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is the only place we stay when we go to Duluth. Stay in the tower. It's clean, spacious and quiet. You won't find anything comparable in the Duluth area for the price. We found the staff friendly and courteous. Free valet parking. Breakfast buttet is good. Past reviewers too critical. We prefer 5 star resorts and feel Black Bear Casino and Resort meet our standards, ie cleanliness, friendly attentive staff and close to local attractions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThunderBay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at Black Bear for 2 days while dropping our son off at college. I was really surprised at how nice the hotel was for the price. It wasn't the best hotel I've ever been to but it was the best value. We were in a jacuzzi suite and it was clean and even though it was the older side it was pretty nice. I liked having everything right there, restaurants & entertainment. My only complaint is the jacuzzi and air conditioning was very loud and I was afraid they would be heard through the walls. That said, I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler91973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I are very clean people. We both travel a bit for work. We happened to be at Black Bear for his work this time. We had two hotel rooms reserved since I only could stay 2 days and I did not want to stay with his co-workers during my stay with him. I just got home yesterday unpacked and we found bugs in our bags. Neither of us had our bags anywhere, but in this hotel and in our cars for the drive there and home. YUCK! We are still researching the bugs, we do know they are not bed bugs, but are leaning toward silverfish or something to the extent. I AM NOT HAPPY!! I have yet to hear from ANY management. Not to mention we had a few misunderstandings with rooms, internet, politeness, etc. You are better off staying across the street at the dumpy motel for $2 more!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prbyashly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlton hotels

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed at Black Bear for a few nights, because there was nothing else available. What a plesant surprise. Rooms very new and clean. Bed very comfy. Flat screen TV. Only $59 a night during the week. I would recommend this place for anyone. Nice pool. Everything kid friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gluecipher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

The hotel experience at Black Bear was more than was expected for $59. I have stayed at hotels that were over $200 per night and were not as nice as this. The bed was super comfortable. The room was perfectly clean. The staff was very friendly. I have absolutely no complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkapala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I have stayed here a few times when we have had events at the casino and I have always liked the hotel. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are fairly large and the floor to ceiling windows really open up the space. I have never had a problem with noisy neighbors or a lot of hallway noise in the middle of the night either like at some other casino hotels.

My only real complaint is that even though the tower is non-smoking, you can still smell cigarettes in the room. The first time I was here it was so bad that I thought someone was smoking right outside my door. Last time I was here however, I asked for a room farther away from the elevators and that seemed to help a lot. I think the doors open in the casino, people get in and the smell travels up with them. Just a tip if you're more sensitive to that.

The buffet is kind of hit or miss... but it's a buffet so there are a lot of options and if you don't like one thing you can try something else.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5onthe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
16.7 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#7 of 33 in Duluth
379 reviews
18.0 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
20.0 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
17.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Property: Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
Address: 1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718-8161
Location: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel has your comfort in mind. Our Tower has 250 stylish rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a 1st class hotel; 32" flat screen TVs, high-speed internet access, and more. All hotel guests will enjoy our popular pool complex and arcade! Plus FREE wireless internet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Carlton
Black Bear Casino Mn
Black Bear Carlton
Black Bear Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing