We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent staff; Cheap and clean rooms; nice casino w/ many game options.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
Save
You added Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent staff; Cheap and clean rooms; nice casino w/ many game options.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This Casino was about 20 minutes from Duluth, MN so we rented the room and spent most of our days seeing tourist attactions in Duluth and up the North Shore. We spent the nights gambling and the mornings playing in the pool / hot tub. The room had 2 big beds and a big TV in 1 section and then a pull out couch and a TV in another section. Typical cramped hotel room style but a pretty good layout. Perfect for a family. Very cheap prices for the room/suite poolside. The staff was excellent. The Casino had many different games to play. They also had a game room for the kids. All in all, a good, cheap stay!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are great. 2nd floor is less noisy and still very accessable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJSPRING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    127
    73
    39
    70
See reviews for
120
149
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel has a newer tower with above average rooms that are very close to the casino but are a long way from the pool and a parking garage that is about a 10 minute walk through the casino and past the convention center.There is a below average buffet that has a smoking area next to the food area.The steak house is over priced and there is a very small deli next to the bingo that is also very smokey, with a limited menu, reasonably priced with decent sandwiches,bugers and pizza.The casino has a large assortment of slot machines,a black jack area and a small poker area.There is a decent golf course that is overpriced compared to many other great courses available in northern Minnesota.

Room Tip: if you intend to use the pool or have childen I recomend staying in the orginal hotel it has easy ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Black Bear is about 2-1/2 hours north onof Minneapolis/St. Paul I-35W so it was relatively easy to get to. It's only 10 or 15 minutes from Duluth, MN. The hotel is a typical casino hotel, but there are two sections to this hotel. The older section is just okay, but is dated. The newer tower section is much more up to date. If you don't book early enough you will end up in a smoking room which is what happened to my family. They have a decent buffet restaurant that wasn't too expensive. Good selection. They also have a little deli type retaurant for less expensive quick meals. The machines are no tighter or looser than any other casino, but they had a nice selection of machines. They could improve the interior to make it a more attractive. I felt a little like I was in a giant warehouse with the machine filling it. To their benefit, the smoke in the casino seems to be well ventilated so I didn't get engulfed by smoke unless I sat next to a smoker.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the newer tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Markspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

the best casino we have ever been to. WI casinos are terrible so decided to try black bear. can't rave enough about this place. very clean great food and the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. wish we had a black bear casino in WI. the rooms are cheap and the views are great from the rooms. they do not rip you off like they do in WI

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldbag75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Above average rooms, with great rates. Easy to find everything on the property. Casino is a good size,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snipes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in the older section of the hotel. It is very inexpensive and the room was fine other than the carpet really could stand to be cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great price (under $60.00) we stayed in the newer building on the 11th floor with a view of the golf course and ceiling to floor windows, couldn't beat the view. I don't gamble so the price is definitely right and the buffet was good as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akoobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet
12.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
19.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
16.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Property: Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
Address: 1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718-8161
Location: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel has your comfort in mind. Our Tower has 250 stylish rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a 1st class hotel; 32" flat screen TVs, high-speed internet access, and more. All hotel guests will enjoy our popular pool complex, tanning,and arcade! Plus FREE wireless internet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Carlton
Black Bear Casino Mn
Black Bear Carlton
Black Bear Casino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing