We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quill and Quilt is awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cannon Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Cannon Falls B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Quill and Quilt is awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Breakfasts were delicious, staff was awesome, and our room was very clean and very comfortable. Cannon Falls is a great town to stay in - great restaurants and don't forget the Cannon Falls Winery! Will definitely be coming back for another weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMJCASEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    12
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
79
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from our third stay with Quill and Quilt and it just keeps getting better. Our first stay was in cozy Ruthies Room. The room is light, airy and the perfect space for a cold winters retreat. Our second stay was July in The Writers Loft (loved the bathroom!). This trip we stayed in The Colville Suite, so far our favorite room. Originally we wanted to x-country ski the Cannon River Trail, but trail conditions weren't the best so we brought our ice skates and spent some of the sunny afternoon on the outdoor rink next to the municipal pool. It's only a few blocks from the Q&Q.

Each trip included a stop at the Cannon River Winery (2 blocks away). We've eaten at the Mill Street Tavern (satisfactory experiences) across from the winery and decided to check out the pub food at Chugger's...only a couple blocks further up. The burgers are tasty and filling but average pub food, nothing special. Maybe a trip to Northfield next time. Also, there is a microwave and small fridge in the second floor common area at Q&Q for leftovers or a bottle of wine.

Polly is now taking care of day to day operations and Q&Q couldn't be in better hands! The deli in town closed abruptly and that has the b&b staff scrambling for alternatives for weekday morning breakfasts (used to be a voucher for the deli). To our delight, Cynthia and Polly were trying new breakfast foods and service options and included us in some of their tastings - breakfast on Friday morning was brought to our room - nice. One of the new breakfast sausages was a mild jalapeno chicken sausage. My wife has an intense aversion for cilantro and was able to taste it immediately (I didn't even notice). The next morning Polly made sure the Fiesta Souffle for my wife didn't have any cilantro. WOW - talk about above and beyond! I could go on even longer, but explore for yourself. For a simple, unhurried stay in a beautifully restored Victorian home away from the bustling city, treat yourself to Cannon Falls, Polly and Cynthia and Quill and Quilt. We'll be back. :-)

Room Tip: Bring your slippers during the winter months, the bathroom floors can be chilly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gossamerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our third stay at the Quill and Quilt and it didn't disappoint, once again! Everything was fabulous! Cynthia greeted us warmly at the door and showed us our beautiful room on the third floor, the Quilter's Haven. So spacious yet quaint at the same time! We love how everything is so close in Cannon Falls. We enjoyed two yummy dinners at the Mill Street Tavern and a lovely evening sipping wine and enjoying some live music at the Winery. Breakfast, as usual, was divine! Polly does an amazing done. Fresh ingredient and homemade cooking! Had my fill both mornings! Conversation with other guests at the breakfast table was so enjoyable. My husband and I hope to be back again soon and try the Writer's Loft room! :) My only minor complaint is the bed was too firm for me, but that is a personal preference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by Cynthia and Polly, who were beyond gracious. The exterior and interior surroundings are lavish in nature, and restored to a much more elegant period of style. The foyer was not only beautiful, it smelled of freshly made chocolate chip cookies, which were placed on a table along with cofffee and tea for the guests. We stayed in Ruthy's room, which was much more spacious, and even more beautifully decorated than the pictures from the web site are able to show. The ajoined bathroom spoiled us with the jetted tub and soothing shower. The room included a flat screen TV with a built in DVD plyaer. The inn has a good sized movie library to pick from. The floor also has a microwave for warming up left overs and a fridge to store beverages etc... We very much enjoyed the social atmosphere during breakfast. The meals were prepared to perfection by Polly who not only is a whiz in the kitchen, she also adds an element of charm and grace to the already warm and cozy inn. The whole inn was spotless and the aromas that wafted through the building were pleasant and inviting. The location is perfect in that Main Steet is a short stroll, or drive depending on the weather. We highly recommend a week-end stay at the Quill and Quilt. Thanks for a lovely visit. We hope to come back again when time allows. Steph and Mike

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faribault, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were very satisfied with our stay. Hope to return again. We were greeted with fresh baked cookies and given a historic tour of the house. The bathroom could've been warmer though. Lots of room in our suite. I would also suggest there be evening snacks for the guests. We were given gift certificate for a local breakfast cafe in town. Very nice and quaint there. We had massages and she was very thorough. The room could've been warmer too. We ordered pizza from a local pizza place for delivery. Very good pizza. Dudleys Pizza. All together was great. We also had trouffles and bought a commemorative mug. They had tea also or hot chocolate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleFuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Weekend Getaway. This was our first Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed it! Very clean room, great food, cozy atmosphere, modern conveniences, friendly staff, awesome locals! We visited the local winery Cannon Falls Winery. It was a Friday night and the live music was nice entertainment. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We needed a little getaway and this was beyond what we were expecting. The house was comfortable, the food was great and the the room was amazing! We stayed in the Writer's Loft and enjoyed every second we spent at Quill and Quilt. The Innkeeper is one of a kind..she catered to our every need and didn't make us feel like a burden to her. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast for any couple that just needs a chance to escape reality for a bit :) especially with a winery just down the road!

Room Tip: The writers loft is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verchiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Falls
1.2 mi away
Saratoga Inn & Suites
Saratoga Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Cannon Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
18.8 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
15.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
21.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast

Property: Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast
Address: 615 W Hoffman St, Cannon Falls, MN 55009
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cannon Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1897 Colonial Revival home has been turned into a bed and breakfast. A perfect blend of old world charm and modern convenience embraces you upon your stay here. A spa is also on premises if you need even more pampering. Biking, canoing, winery tour are just some of the local attractions. Every room has a fireplace, jacuzzi A/C and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quill And Quilt b&b
Quill And Quilt Hotel Cannon Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing