We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun local place!”

Cannon River Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun local place!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I were driving to La Crosse Wisconsin and decided to stop through Cannon Falls to grab lunch. We ended up going to Mill Street Tavern and noticed the winery across the street. It was Saturday, and there was a live band so it was fun to hangout there for a few hours. It was busy, but not too packed (see pictures). We got flights and could pick 3 different wines to try for $6 total. I got the "grandma" flights that were special wines dedicated to grandmas that used to work there. So they are named after them. The 3 I tried were all sweeter wines. "Lorraine's white, Irene's blush, and Gogol Red." Afterwards we bought wine. Most were around $15. Was fun, would come again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keeley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    15
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannon Falls, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neat local winery”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

check out their website for the times to go & see the wine making process. From picking grapes to putting it in the bottle. They also have music & my favorite, Girls Day Away.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 53bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Falls
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT experience at a local winery”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Here you will find top shelf wines developed and made by 3rd generation vintner Vincent Negret from Colombia. The winery is owned and operated by the Maloney family, and they will treat you as old friends. They use locally grown grapes, now and then blending imports, to produce a wonderful taste of Minnesota and the upper Midwest. When he is available, Mr. Negret is very enthusiastic about helping one (or a small group) to discover what type of wine is preferred during documented tastings of a variety of wines produced there. He is quite in his element when doing this. I watched the winery being constructed, I met and conversed with the Maloneys, and I have spent some time with Vincent, and as an amateur wine maker myself I can assure you that you will find it a real treat to visit the winery. They want you to have a great experience, and they do a pretty job of it. This should definitely be on your "to do" list!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Girls trip!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you are planning an easy laid back girls weekend, a trip to Cannon Falls and the Winery should be in your plans. The cost is worth it. They have live music most of the time, and are very welcoming.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Winter Saturday Night”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I had been here once before and it didn't dissappoint. This time they had a band playing that was really good. They played all cover songs with their own twist. Their name had something to do with Ashes and April, but I can't remember how it all went. For $8 you get to try 8 of their wines and all were delicious. Lots of fun.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannon River Winery also viewed

 

Been to Cannon River Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing