We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good could be excellent with a few tweaks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good could be excellent with a few tweaks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Shrigley Hall for two nights for a birthday celebration. Overall we had a very pleasant stay. Better signage or pre-instructions would have made arrival at reception easier as we carried our bags up and down dale before we got there from the car park. On arrival, reception was friendly and efficient. We were given a room (250) at the far end of this quite large hotel and we had a job negotiating the stairs, long corridors and lifts with our luggage. Worth thinking about for the old or infirmed. A helpful room maid assisted us with directions. We discovered later that the hotel can be accessed directly from the car park and this helped when we left.
The room was very clean, neat and tidy but a rather odd shape for a double as the sloping roof made ingress into bed a little awkward. Either needs to be a single or needs furniture rearrangement. Outlook was good, over trees and a putting green.
Our pre-booked afternoon tea was delicious and we enjoyed it very much. The courtyard bar was nice with funny waving fan “things” well worth seeing! There were a lot of uncleared tables, not a good look for a “posh” hotel.
We ate two dinners at the hotel. The food was delicious and served hot by excellent staff in a dining room with a good atmosphere.
We didn’t get time to explore the extensive grounds because of the inclement weather but I’m sure that would be a good way to spend some time if you are neither golfers nor spa lovers.
The entrance hall near reception has a fantastic domed ceiling over the staircase which should not be missed.
Breakfasts were as good as dinners with excellent choice and tasty food. Again we noted one morning a lot of uncleared tables and some staff stood round chatting when their time might have been better spent. Again however level of service to our table and staff attitude was excellent. I think a major domo patrolling the breakfast room to ensure swift table clearance and re-set would be a good idea.

Room Tip: Ask about room location before you arrive to avoid "The Never Ending Story" as the room ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaandykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear aaandykov,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I apologise you experienced confusion over the location of your room, our reception team should have informed you of the rear car park entrance to allow for ease with finding your room. Thank you for your view on the room layout, I will have our housekeeping manager look at this. It is nice you found interest within the hotel from the fans in the Courtyard roof to the amazing entrance hall. It is lovely you enjoyed great choice with the delicious food, served by our excellent staff and I will relay your comments to our breakfast supervisor for swift relay. I hope that you return in the near future to explore the grounds that the weather permitted you to see, there is lots more to experience.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    726
    529
    268
    148
See reviews for
335
1,222
21
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 7 friends came to Shrigley Hall to celebrate a birthday and we had a really good time.

Pros - the spa is fantastic - it wasn't too busy, the treatments we had were excellent, afternoon tea was lovely although we couldn't have this within the spa area and the dinner/breakfast in the evening was delicious

Cons - some of the rooms are dated and need a considerable makeover. There was some confusion as to whether we could wear robe and slippers to afternoon tea in the main hotel - of course on a spa break we didn't want to have to get fully dressed half way through the day so it would have been ideal to have somewhere to have this in the spa area. The bar at night time was full of raucous men who were very very loud and some didn't really want to leave us alone. One of the pedicures that my friend received left a lot to be desired. However upon contacting the hotel, a full apology was received, a refund and a discount for a future treatment. Sometimes things can go wrong but in my view, how it is resolved makes a big difference.

All said and done we had a great time on our break - the cons did not ruin the time we spent together and we are already planning a return.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Xsazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Xsazzle,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am thrilled to read yourself and your friends had a great spa stay. I apologise for the little hiccups you encountered, I will ensure to address the confusion with the leisure department and a discussion point in regards to location of afternoon tea. It's great that the hotel was efficient in resolving the treatment issue for you. I am glad you enjoyed all the delicious food during your stay and found the amenities fantastic. We look forward to your planned return.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a spa day using a groupon voucher glad I didn't pay full price & also added afternoon tea. The spa is dark and not very sparkling and not as luxurious as you would expect from this standard of establishment although the spa staff were friendly & helpful. The afternoon tea had to be taken in the main hotel - we could have been sat in any two for one pub looking at the surroundings and for the quality of food and service. Not a patch on the afternoon teas taken elsewhere such as Crewe Hall. We were served 3 of each sandwich for an afternoon tea for 2, only given one plate & knife for both the sandwiches and scones & cake. Drinks were plonked down with no complementary refills. Disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank catcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear catcheshire,

Thank you for your review following your recent spa day here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel. I am upset to read you found the service you experienced disappointing, the beauty area has recently had a little makeover, so it is interesting to read feedback. I will ensure to take your comments back to the team about the afternoon tea, at the moment we don't offer complimentary top ups of tea & coffee, however maybe it is an idea and worth discussing. Thank you for your lovely feedback for the spa staff.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pott Shrigley hotels

Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I was treated to a pampering day here and was very pleased with the day. The spa area is nice and they use Decleor products (my favourite). I had a facial which was very relaxing and all the staff were very friendly. The pool area is nice and the changing facilities were good. It was quite busy but that is only to be expected as it is a members country club too.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Padburygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Padburygal,

Thank you for your review following your Spa Day here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am thrilled yourself and friends enjoyed your pamper day with us, made even better with your favourite products Decleor. I am glad you found your facial relaxing and all facilities of a good standard. As stated we can get a little busy in prime times with being open to members, however I am glad this did not affect your experience.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Second visit to Shrigley. Only a short stay so unable to take advantaged of the golf course or pool this time. Have enjoyed them in the past. Ideal for a short break. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am happy to read this was your second visit to stay with us, even on a short break. Thank you for your lovely comments for our staff. We hope to welcome you back for a third time in the near future, maybe for a long weekend to experience the golf course and the pool.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

hotel & staff were very good . really nice breakfast . on the down side we went there for a golf weekend ,we had been led to believe the course was championship standard . the truth is its 1 of the worst courses i have played ! after a great summer the greens should be perfect but they are a disgrace . do not attempt this course without a buggy or a landrover ! best thing about the golf was the swimming pool & steam room after .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rae m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear rae m,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, staff and had a very nice breakfast during your stay. I am sorry that the golf course didn't live up to expectations, I have spoken to Tim Hudspith our Golf Manager and the week prior to your arrival, the greens team hollow cored the putting surfaces greens, which may well have affected your game. As I am sure you are aware, hollow coring is of essential importance for healthy putting surfaces moving into the Autumn period. It improves both drainage and the root zone, by removing any thatch build up that may have formed over the spring and summer. 90% of golf venues hollow core early August as recovery will be swifter. Our rates are reduced in August for this reason, but if you would like to discuss your experience of the golf course further, please don't hesitate to call Tim Hudspith, our Golf Manager, on 01625 575626 and he will be happy to speak with you. Golf course feedback has been very good this Summer, so we were disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your game.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Yes the rooms are dated but I understand this is being addressed. It is an old building with lots of corridors but never a problem as there are plenty of signs. Getting a little lost was part of the fun. We were there for a wedding that was absolutely superb. The staff were exceptional - very friendly and helpful. The pool is lovely and everything is spotlessly clean. The grounds are amazing and we enjoyed the signposted walks. We even saw a deer herd. I recommend the fish and chips from the Courtyard Bar. One small negative (and I am being extremely picky) maybe it should be made known that the waitresses will bring you a pot of tea or coffee at breakfast should you not wish to serve yourself from the machine. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Linda H,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am delighted you loved your recent visit and appreciated that decor in some rooms is throughout this year being looked at. Amazing that you managed to see the deer on your signposted walk around the grounds, they are a great sight when spotted. Fish & Chips certainly have come out as a favourite on our new Summer menu, I'm glad you enjoyed. Tea & Coffee should be being offered as standard at breakfast so I will ensure this is noted with our breakfast supervisor. Thank you for your nice comments for our exceptional staff and we hope to welcome you back again soon to enjoy another stay.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
23.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
14.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Property: Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing