We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shrigley Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Lovely setting, great gardens. Only negative was that room was very hot. Restaurant food good, bar good, breakfasts good. Leisure centre pool lovely setting. Conference staff very helpful with event. Would use again.


  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrsJDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear MrsJDo,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. It's lovely to read you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful setting and enjoyed all meals taken whilst with us. The leisure department certainly is a unique attraction in the old chapel. Thank you for your nice comments for our Conference team who were on had to help with your event.

Kind Regards
Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,995 - 2,001 of 2,743 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just spent a wonderful weekend celebrating our sons wedding at Shrigley Hall Hotel, although we had a few minor problems with lost storeroom keys and room swipe cards that would not open bedroom doors!, I have nothing but praise for all the staff involved in making this such a beautiful occaision for everyone. Thank you to all.

Room Tip: The double deluxe rooms overlooking the grounds and golf course and the beautiful Cheshire countrys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham_wisegreyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Graham H,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I am thrilled you had a wonderful weekend with us celebrating your son's wedding and thoroughly enjoyed the front facing deluxe room with the spectacular views. The hotel has been made aware of the slight issue with store room keys and so glad Paul swiftly sorted this out for you. We appreciate the praise you send for all our team to whom you met over the weekend. All the best for the newly married couple and we hope you to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Highly recommend this package with dinner, bed and breakfast and bottle of sparkling wine included. Beautiful setting, leisure facilities perfect - pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room. Did not use beauty centre but it looked lovely. Rooms are clean and comfortable and have everything you need. Dinner was tasty and a good choice on inclusive package. It's 4 star rating is right but would definitely go again with friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Claire T,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm so glad to read you had a lovely stay on the Sparkle package and found our setting to be beautiful with all the amenities we have to offer. It's great the package you had booked you was pleased with choices for dinner and with this enjoyed some tasty food. We look forward to your future return with friends and maybe some indulgence with some beauty treatments.

Kind Regards
Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The property and buildings were wonderful. It is set high upon a hill overlooking a golf course. This originally was a boys' school, but it has been nicely converted. I had no issues with staffing. I thought they were pleasant and professional.
It is a bit of a maze to find your room. My room was older, but spacious with a good view. I thought the food was good, including the breakfast buffet (included in the price).
The pool was in the old chapel - a beautiful setting.
The price for the room was less than I expected to pay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MplsDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear MplsDon,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I am very pleased you had a lovely stay and thoroughly enjoyed the history that comes with our property. It certainly is a beautiful place to visit and the old chapel is definitely a unique feature for us. Thank you for your nice comments towards our pleasant and professional staff and the good food you enjoyed during your stay.

Kind Regards
Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We came here for a romantic break to celebrate our anniversary and were extremely disappointed. The system was down when we arrived so we weren't allocated a room for over an hour. When we finally did get a room it was like a maze to get to and we had no help other than vague directions from the staff. We got lost a few times. When we got to the room our disappointment grew. The room was dated, basic and cold. The only 4* thing about the room was the complimentary toiletries. Whoever rates hotels needs to revisit this one. Breakfast was average. I definitely will not be returning.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank thecortvriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear thecortvriend,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us. I am upset to read that you left disappointment after your romantic getaway; this is not how we wish our guests to leave. Technical faults with the system cannot be foreseen, however I do apologise for this and the disappointment in your room, we do have a planned refurbishment that will modernise the rooms throughout the year. Our reception team during their welcome would offer guests porter help with their luggage to rooms on arrival so I will bring this to their attention that this wasn't offered on this occasion. Feedback to us is vital as this helps us to understand and improve so I thank you. On a plus, I would like to take the opportunity to wish you a very happy anniversary.

Kind Regards
Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Staffing problems, poor service on first night, below par room on 3rd floor, quite a distance from public areas. Lovely surroundings, food excellent but experience spoiled by atmosphere of complaints created by poor staffing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Angela N,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us. I do apologise you felt your experience was spoilt in regards to the service you received, I will ensure to take your comments to the team to discuss and solve. I am afraid due to the build of the hotel, as we are situated on a hill the new part does have a little distance to the third floor and main reception areas. I am glad you enjoyed our surroundings and the excellent food served.

Kind Regards
Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked through Diamond Resorts. Lovely hotel with fantastic staff. Room was a nice size, very clean. Other comments on TripAdvisor mention cleanliness - not a problem for us & everywhere we went we saw cleaners working hard! Only issue was in the leisure club where showers / changing rooms were not that clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ryan10_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Ryan10_1967,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm delighted the highlight of your Diamond Resort stay was the great service you encountered from our fantastic staff. Also, a very nice point that the cleanliness was of high standard during your stay, however I will ensure to inform the Leisure club. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
255 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,636 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,932 reviews
23.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range: $74 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing