We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful 5*****”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Me and my husband got married here on the 23rd of August 2013
This is a beautiful hotel in the most stunning location,
Staff are fantastic
Rooms are lovely
Food is fabulous!
This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location!
People do NOT be put off by peoples pathetic ridiculous reviews, people are pathetic these days and with find fault with anything!
This is absolute A*****
Go to shrigley hall... Have a fabulous time and enjoy the wonderful surroundings

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jsharp2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Jsharp2008,

Thank you for your amazing review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm thrilled to read yours and your husbands wedding was fabulous and you thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful hotel and all the amenities. I will most certainly pass your praise on to the whole team. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,148 - 2,154 of 2,697 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

Been here twice in a few months so i held off until i'd done both before reviewing - it only seemed fair. Both were business trips and had conferences in the hotel.
On the outside it's pretty grand and you drive up to a really nice facade unless you have to park in the rear car park in which case get your hiking boots out. Check in is fine and i must say that the staff were always very helpful and friendly wherever you were in the hotel.
Getting to your room however is not for the faint hearted - likely you'll end up towards the back and if you have heavy bags it's a nightmare up and down stairs for no discernible reason. I'd hate to think what sort of experience i'd have if i were not relatively young and spritely. I know elements are because of the age of the building but it could be a lot easier.
WiFi coverage is patchy at best - good job it's free as i wouldn't want to pay money for it.
The food was pretty good but they seem to sit conferences or large groups in the 'other' breakfast room which is definitely not welcoming. It made me feel like we were shoved out of the way on both occasions and i had no choice where i sat.
The bar coverage seemed pretty patchy too - we exited from a session on mass at a set time and there was only one member of staff on. We figured we'd tell him that he might need some help as there were about 50 people following us so he promptly left us standing there for 10 minutes whilst he went off to find someone. Perhaps something was wrong with the phone but it seemed rather silly to me.

On the whole it was ok but the look of it promises more than it delivers and i wouldn't stay here again on my own choice. Mottram Hall is only down the road and it's much better.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank ChapmanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear ChapmanDan,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us. I'm disappointed to read about your business trips. As you say our hotel is very large and there is a walk between the old building and the new. I apologise for you not feeling welcomed at breakfast and kept waiting at the bar; I will ensure to pass these comments on to the breakfast and bar supervisor to action and train with their staff. I do hope I can welcome you back in the near furture to allow us to wow you with the high standards we pride ourselves in.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed 1 night on business. Lady on reception was excellent, leisure facilities first class, gym equipment was as good as any dedicated gym.
Food at dinner was delicious - steak cooked perfectly. Waiting staff were courteous and attentive without being over bearing.
Overall about the best hotel I have stayed in this year - and I stay in a lot.
Only downside was that the offer of Free WiFi should be taken lightly as it does not work in the rooms and I was informed by staff that it only works in the vicinity of reception area - which meant I had to sit in the bar and do my work - shame!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new section are a long winding walk from reception so difficult if you are elderly or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Steve L,

Thank you for your great review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. Lovely to read this was your best hotel this year and you enjoyed all the facilities on offer throughout the hotel. I will ensure to pass your praise on to all staff. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

First time at Shrigley and I was attending a conference there. The room I had was spacious and the bed comfortable, but very warm, even in December. The bathroom was also spacious but let down the room as it could do with a good clean around the bath tub and shower. A fabric pelmet is perhaps not the best idea in a bathroom. Although I had a room in what seemed to be the original part of the hotel, it was still a trek and a lot of stairs so bear this in mind if less mobile. The sound from the corridors is rather loud during the evening and I got a lot of noise and conversation from other inconsiderate residents in another room (above or next door) which seemed to be travelling 'through pipes'? which wasn't helpful to sleeping.

I didn't enjoy the meals though, and although not the hotels choice of menu, the meal for the dinner was not good, rather sparse and the service very slow. We sat down just after 8pm and didn't get coffee well after 10.15pm (a 3 course dinner) - the after dinner speaker had to talk whilst coffee was being served.

The staff were friendly though and always able to help, especially when I got lost.

The main conference room was in the Tilden Suite (a lot of stairs from the main building which presumably is because it is the old chapel that has been linked to the hotel). There was a strong smell of 'swimming pool' as you walk to this suite.

The views from the front of the hotel were impressive and it was good to see planned routes for running or walking.

Not sure I would stay again due to mobility and the number of stairs, but it seemed a pleasant hotel with well decorated public rooms.

Room Tip: At the front of the old/original part of the hotel to avoid long walks and a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear dvt,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us. Nice to read that overall you had a good stay, I do apologise that the choice of evening meal wasn't to your liking and you found your room and conference room a bit of a walk, our hotel was built in the 1800's so does have a quirky layout. I will pass your lovely comments back to the staff. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future to maybe enjoy our impressive views with a room above reception.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

What a beautiful location, rural but not too far out, the room was lovely a four poster bed and reception very welcoming. The only negative would be a young man waiting on in the restaurant was not too pleasant, but on the whole well worth the money I would recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Steph D,

Thank you for your nice review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. Great you enjoyed your lovely four poster room, these are certainly our best sellers. I will look into the restaurant service and pass your comments on. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We got married here last year and then returned for our honeymoon this year. The standard rooms are average however the bridal suits are huge and the bathtub amazing! The only negative I can think of is the heat of the rooms, Luckerly found a fan in the wardrobe in the middle of the night. The food is lovely the bar staff friendly and if you get married here they go out of there way to make it run smoothly however they you have to bring your own cd player for the wedding march and find someone who doesn't work at the hotel to press play. The views are impressive.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDavies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear SDavies87,

Thank you for your great review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. Lovely to read that you enjoyed your return honeymoon stay this year; I will ensure to pass your comments on to the bar staff and rest of the team. I will pass on your points regarding the wedding march. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future to enjoy more of our impressive views.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked our wedding at Shrigley Hall in November 2012 and got married there just over two weeks ago.
The wedding coordinator could not do enough for us and was always prompt at answering questions. We had a full details run through and was able to have lots of input into our day. We had lots of information and was informed all the way through.

The wedding package included flowers and venue dressing, we did pay to upgrade this. The wedding was in the Woodford in the main hotel which was perfect for Nov as it has lots of light, and is great for making an entrance down the grand stairs.

The wedding breakfast and reception was in the Tilden suit. This room certainly gave the wow factor when lit up and candles were lit.
We chose the Tilden as it has its own entrance and bar, thus making the venue private and intimate for our wedding. We were the only wedding on the day, however if there had been another wedding I would not want the two groups mixing, or to have my guests drinking with other hotel guests.

The hotel on the day could not do enough for us and ran round to make sure all requests were met and guests were looked after, including allowing early check in for those arriving the morning of. (John and Dean were stars xx)

The food and service were excellent on the day, and although I have seen the breakfast room busy, it was well managed.

We had rooms at the front of the hotel and of course these are the best rooms, as they have the character of the old building, and are of a good size. The rooms I saw of the new bit of the hotel were what I would of expected as a guest. Some of our guests chose to upgrade if they wanted special rooms, however most knew they would be spending little time in their rooms.

The hotel is large so yes there is sometimes a walk between rooms and the main part of the hotel, however the size allowed us to have many of our guests stay over night. The perfect balance between a large hotel and an intimate venue, with the bonus of a spa to take advantage of.

I would keep in mind that this is a very old building, not a new build made to look old. so it does have character and therefore layout is not of a purpose built hotel, it is maintained to a high standard.
The views and the golf course are amazing and there are lots of lovely walks. The pool and spa are nice, however I would say the changing rooms in the spa lack a little, of the 4* facilities.

Lovely Place, which made our day amazing! xxx

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room at the front of the hotel, if you want luxury. Also room in the new part ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmamarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear emmamarie22

Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm thrilled to read that your wedding was a great success and you fully enjoyed the amenities our hotel had to offer along with the character of the building. I will mosty certainly pass your praise on to John, Dean and the rest of the team. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,607 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
234 reviews
23.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,864 reviews
14.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range: $76 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing