We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a nice weekend playing golf. The course is excellent and in good nick. Tricky greens and some clever holes. Would definitely play there again. The hotel was good. The location is great and very picturesque. Reception were pleasant on arrival. My room was a little tired. The bathroom was at best adequate and needs a refurbish. The evening meal was good, as was the breakfast, so can't fault the food. Was disappointed that our group were offered a complimentary drink, then after we had all ordered the embarrassed young waiter had to return with only half our party with drinks, saying Derek the manager had decided we couldn't have them after all. Not impressed. You can't have something offered to you then take it away half way through!! However the young waiter managed to get us a bottle of house wine to make up, so thanks to him we were appeased. I would recommend for a short stay with good golf facilities. Ps, Macclesfield is a bit grim for a Saturday night out!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Richard H,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our golf course so much, we take great pride in thecourse and so it is always good to receive positive feedback on this. I would like to apologise for the confusion with the complimentary round of drinks; I believe in owning up when we get things wrong and doing something about it. It seems on this occasion the team tried to resolve things for you but this was lost in communication with the duty manager. This has been addressed with the team and I can assure you will not happen again. I do hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    709
    505
    287
    149
See reviews for
327
1,188
24
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel,GWYNEDD.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Saved by the location and the weather. We spent last weekend at this hotel with two of our
grandchildren arriving on Friday evening. We were allocated a family room in the new section of the hotel (room 356). This is a rambling sort of place and you need a sat-nav to find your way.
The room was a bit tired and cramped with the sofa bed for the children located under an apex
window but everything worked and we slept undisturbed both nights.Having found the room and
sorted ourselves out we went to the leisure complex which we used extensively throughout
our stay. To be fair I thought it very good and the children loved using the pool. That evening
we ate out inclusive dinner with a bottle of red wine. The food was very tasty although not that
plentiful. Having to help the children have clean plates as is a must filled my stomach.
Despite the piano bar the dinning room may not be as romantic as you would imagine ?.
Saturday morning a lovely day and after a very nice brekie we went for a long walk
around the perimeter of the extensive grounds avoiding the golf balls. The children loved
looking out for the deer and searching for lost golf balls this walk was made much more
enjoyable due to the sunny warm morning. On return it was more splashing about in the
pool followed by our inclusive afternoon tea which I thought was excellent. We spent the
remainder of the day collecting blackberries for a tasty crumble on our return.
Ok all a bit boring you may think but the children loved it and if we were honest so did
we so no apologies for making full use of all the facilities that this hotel presents in a glorious
location. Early bed both nights (where do these children get all the energy from ). Sunday
morning after brekie more splashing about in the pool before departure at about 2.pm.
All in all a great weekend but it could have been better had the accommodation been up to
scratch. To be fair I am sure there are some top notch bedrooms but at what price !!
Having regard to what we paid I thought the entire experience represented very good
value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CYMROCARMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Cymrocarmel,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us; i'm pleased to see that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us and managed to make use of many of our facilities. We are currently in the process of refurbishing a number of our rooms and will continue to do so into the New Year. I do hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here on promotional, a great bargain earlier in the year. The hotel was classy, bedroom roomy, comfortable and elegant; the surrounding grounds including golf course most impressive. Couldn't fault the service from all members of the hotel staff that we encountered. Only wish we"d stayed longer. Next time definitely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Elissy,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and that you couldn't fault the service you received, I will ensure this is passed onto the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked an overnight stay here through Groupon. Excellent, friendly, professional staff, lovely food, good pool, nice room.
We stayed in the newer part of the hotel which was fine. The views from the main hotel of the grounds were stunning. Nice piano bar for the evening.
Totally relaxed, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynor r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear gaynor r,

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay here at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. i'm delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and left feeling totally relaxed. I do hope you will return and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked a two day mid week break through groupo nand we had a four poster bed and jacuzzi bed breakfast evening meal with wine in the cost. The hotel is impressive with excellent decor and views, our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The staff were very attentive and professional especially in the dining room. We booked a round of golf through the hotel and got a discount the course is brilliant and well looked after, half way round a herd of red deer came out of the bushes and red squirels were fighting in the trees brilliant. We had two very relaxing days didn't get a chance to try the spa will do next time

Room Tip: The four posters are a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Howard P,

Thank you for your positive review following your stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I was delighted to read your comments on all aspects of the hotel and will ensure these are shared with the team. We are lucky to have a family of deer living on our grounds and i'm glad to see you had the chance to see them up close. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I invited our son and his girlfriend to spend a weekend with us at this hotel. I was not sure of what to expect as I had some difficulty in trying to book it over the internet. However, upon arrival we were quite pleased. Our room, while quite a distance from reception and the restaurants / bars was of good size, very clean and nicely fixed out. We had booked an inclusive package which included breakfast and three course dinner. Food at both meals was very good and there was a wide selection available. The service staff are very friendly and welcoming but I am not sure of their level of experience.

The location is amazing, sitting upon the top of a small hill you can see for miles and miles. The fairways make a lovely backdrop to the views. We tried the 'crazy golf' course but found that it really was in need of repair and an upgrade (probably about the worst thing on the weekend).

We used the swimming pool and enjoyed its location but the lack of depth in the pool made it more like a wading pool (not quite but you get my drift). The kids had a massage and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

All in all, a quite enjoyable weekend with the family. Good value for the entire package.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views but they are the more expensive suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Howard C,

Thank you for your positive comments following your families stay here with us. I was delighted to read of how much you enjoyed the food and surroundings. I have personally looked at our crazy golf course and have instructed some maintenance work to take place on it. I do hope you will return to stay with us next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited the hotel for a 2 night stay with friends.

Pleasant hotel with nice rooms although I expect not hugely wheelchair friendly as the lifts do not go to all rooms and lots of corridor walking to get to some rooms. Just be sure to check which room you are in.
We visited on the weekend of a wedding which should not have caused a problem - However, the 1st evening meal was very very slow due to understaffing. Staff lovely but inefficient. We sat down at 8.30pm and finally left the restaurant at 11.15pm. Not good.
The morning after was the day after the wedding. This was total chaos as the wedding really needed to be offered breakfast in a separate room to enable the usual breakfast service to continue as normal.
As it was, the only people who were allowed into breakfast when we were there from 9.25am - 10.30am, were the wedding party. The rest of us were all kept waiting for an hour or more. There were around 30 or more of us at one point. Some even made the decision to get their breakfast and eat it in the queue!
When we finally got in to eat breakfast, most items had run out and the staff were manically trying to refill.
Very bad organisation which could have been avoided by a conference room being allocated to the wedding.
The rest of the day continued to be short staffed but the staff were again very lovely but stressed beyond belief all day!
If management don't plan better, they will lose good staff.
Overall, a pleasant stay but a little stressful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaaddict67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear spaaddict67,

Thank you for your constructive feedback following you stay here with us. I would like to apologise for the service issues that impacted your stay; we were particularly busy that particular weekedn and I appreciate that this did cause some service issues. I can assure you that lessons have been learnt following this and we will endevour to ensure our high standards of service are achieved and maintained throughout. I do hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
23.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
20.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Property: Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing