We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complimentary Stay after very bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here with my husband on the 3rd November, this was a complimentary stay after a terrible experience in August. Unfortunately it did nothing to restore my faith in what used to be a very lovely place stay. The room itself was ok with a nice view, but the spa bath didn't work. Reception did offer to send someone to look but as the bath was run and it was 7.15pm with a dinner reservation for 8.15pm there wasn't time to wait.
There was a wedding party in the hotel and our room was right above the entrance. From around midnight to 1.30am we couldn't sleep for the noise of cars coming and going and lots of shouting. Followed by more of the same at 5.00am.
There was also 2 Hen Parties in the hotel, and when we went for dinner we placed in an overspill room next to the restaurant between the two tables of ladies on the Hen Nights. Not exactly what I would expect considering the management knew the reason we were there. We my husband asked the restaurant manager to move us as it was my birthday and we couldn't bear the noise. To be fair he said yes but as they were very busy we would have to wait. So we ordered 2 glasses of champagne while we waited, only one came and we had to wait again for the other. Eventually a waitress came to take our order, we explained we were waiting to be moved into the restaurant. She went to find out what the delay was and moved us straight away. There were several tables free so we had obviously been forgotten.
The restaurant service was appalling, we had to ask twice for water and 3 times for our wine which arrived after the starter. The food was ok till the cheese board which we sent back after waiting 30 mins for it. When asked why the delay the waitress said because the chef makes everything from fresh! Must have been churning away in the kitchen.
Safe to say we will not return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coco101healdgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,576 - 2,582 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent hotel and very friendly staff. Stayed for two weeks whilst on business and thoroughly enjoyed stay. Ate in bar every night and food was always top notch, especially the duck salad. Although furniture was dated it was all fine, with rooms clean and well stocked. Made use of gym, which was air conditioned and made training easier. Spa pool was on the small side so not much use if you want to swim a few lengths but was nice to chill in and unwind. Was also pretty empty after 7.30 so plenty of peace and quiet. Would stay here again and would anyone to try it. There were a lot of families in for half term first week and it was quite quiet the second week.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking tell them on booking as the hotel is massive and some rooms are quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonky_Baton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

this is my second visit to this hotel we had a weekend at shrigley 10/11/12, i had a mix up with my booking via the internet (nothing to do with the hotel) but reception sorted it out offering me the price i would have paid on line. the room. they offered me a quiet room (there was a wedding on that day) without asking. the room was clean and tidy, dinner and breakfast was very good, the pool was clean and not to many people in even with the wedding, all the staff were helpful and attentive. i would give Victoria on reception extra praise for help sort out the mix up

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were after a few nights away to break up our journey to North Lancashire. The hotel is stunning from the outside and set in some wonderfully kept grounds with brilliant views. This continues in the main public areas with a stunning main staircase and statues and busts discretely nestling in alcoves.

On arrival our room was not available, we were able to store our bags in the bag store and use the Courtyard Bar to get a bite of lunch and a drink. John the barman managed to allow us to set up a tab and charge to our room even though we hadn't checked in or knew what the room number was. After a while the receptionist came to us in the bar with our room keys and gave instructions on how to find the room. This hotel is a bit of a maze and very easy to get lost, with lots of little staircases. The first room we were allocated was a twin room at the front of the main house with 2 rather small looking single beds. A quick trip back to reception to ask if they had anything else. The receptionist explained that we'd been allocated a room at the front of the hotel as there were a couple of hen weekends and ladies spa parties checked in and they wanted to keep the other guests separate as these can get a little noisy. We said we would be ok and were given a larger double room in the 'extension' at the back of the hotel. The main room was good and recently decorated however the bathroom looked a little 'tired' and could have done with a spruce up.

We made good use of the swimming pool, gym and spa facilities. The pool is a little small and gets very shallow so not really that good to swimming lengths in, the steam room is well used and nice and hot. The gym has the usual modern equipment, we only used the bike and treadmills. My wife had a really nice pedicure and said it was very relaxing.

Evening meals are exceptional, the chef is excellent and has apparently recently earned a rosette from the tourist board. Breakfast again is of high quality, buffet service when the hotel is busy, but cooked to order when not so busy (as on our second morning). The only let down is the quality of the coffee from the coffee machine. There is however a large selection of teas from British breakfast to Moroccan mint.

I would definitely return if only for the evening meal!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBandBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Played golf on the Saturday course was very wet but the fairways were perfect as we're the greens, my only criticism would be that a sign post is needed to direct players of the way to go on the 7th hole as you have to play through trees which you would never find unless shown. But all in all loved everything about my stay will be returning again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were invited to a wedding reception here,for one of my wife's students and decided to stay over. The hotel is set in stunning grounds, the staff are very welcoming, the food good and the drinks are set at an acceptable price. OK the decor is a little dated, but the place has a homely feel, and the staff add to that ambiance. One thing people need to remember is that weddings are very specal events for the people involved, and children in particular enjoy them, let thier hair down, and can be rather noisy. People not involved with such events need to be forgiving and accept that a little noise may disturb them. We were not disturbed, and enjoyed our visit very much. Braekfast was excellent with a superb range of options which could match the Far East and Australasia. I recommend this hotel, we would go back wedding or no wedding!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pick1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a 2-night break at Shrigley Hall to celebrate a wedding anniversary; it is one of the few hotels in this group - Paramount/Barcelo/Puma - that we had never visited before, but we had heard of its reputation for good food. We were not disappointed. As LeisureBreak members, we got an upgrade to a Premium room at no extra charge. The room was spacious and comfortable, at the side of the hotel, which gave us a lovely view of the colourful Autumn trees. The receptionists were very welcoming and helfpful. The bar staff were very professional. Dinner was delicious with a varied menu and top quality food. Breakfast was as impressive.

Shrigley Hall is well situated for visiting lots of places of interest. We decided to drive to Bakewell via Buxton, a very "exciting" ride, going through cloud and even a snowstorm! Passed the Cat & Fiddle, reputedly the "highest pub in England".

We shall definitely be going back to Shrigley Hall in the future; the staff were all very professional and helpful. Steve Cook had been in the job of Operations Manager for only 3 days when we arrived, and he always seemed to be around, being very helpful and encouraging to the staff. Susan in the restaurant really made us feel special, she is a great asset to the hotel. All the reception girls were lovely, Zoe in particular was on duty most of the time and most helpful.

Shrigley Hall used to be a Salesian College for training missionaries; some of the history is in reception and I discovered a Salesian cemetery near the rear car park, which was very interesting. We need to go back for a longer visit.

Room Tip: Join the Puma Leisure Breaks Club (£20 one-off payment) and you have a good chance of an upgraded ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
265 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,660 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,963 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
23 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range: $54 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing