We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in amazing setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a 2-night break at Shrigley Hall to celebrate a wedding anniversary; it is one of the few hotels in this group - Paramount/Barcelo/Puma - that we had never visited before, but we had heard of its reputation for good food. We were not disappointed. As LeisureBreak members, we got an upgrade to a Premium room at no extra charge. The room was spacious and comfortable, at the side of the hotel, which gave us a lovely view of the colourful Autumn trees. The receptionists were very welcoming and helfpful. The bar staff were very professional. Dinner was delicious with a varied menu and top quality food. Breakfast was as impressive.

Shrigley Hall is well situated for visiting lots of places of interest. We decided to drive to Bakewell via Buxton, a very "exciting" ride, going through cloud and even a snowstorm! Passed the Cat & Fiddle, reputedly the "highest pub in England".

We shall definitely be going back to Shrigley Hall in the future; the staff were all very professional and helpful. Steve Cook had been in the job of Operations Manager for only 3 days when we arrived, and he always seemed to be around, being very helpful and encouraging to the staff. Susan in the restaurant really made us feel special, she is a great asset to the hotel. All the reception girls were lovely, Zoe in particular was on duty most of the time and most helpful.

Shrigley Hall used to be a Salesian College for training missionaries; some of the history is in reception and I discovered a Salesian cemetery near the rear car park, which was very interesting. We need to go back for a longer visit.

Room Tip: Join the Puma Leisure Breaks Club (£20 one-off payment) and you have a good chance of an upgraded ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,518 - 2,524 of 2,712 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only stayed one night for a 30th birthday party. Reception staff very welcoming and pleasant. room on first floor was exactly what we asked for. decor slightly tired but immaculately clean, and beds comfortable. Bathroom great size and I was especially impressed with the bath - instant hot water and filled so quickly!
Breakfast was very good - buffet style with wide choice and very tasty.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGtips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night with work and the drive and grounds are very impressive but the hotel itself is a disappointment. If you have mobility issues then this is probably not the hotel for you as there are stairs to all rooms even if you use the lift. Both my room and the bathroom were very dated and the hotel needs to invest in modernising itself. Food in the restaurant was ok but nothing to write home about.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

gorgeous setting, beautiful hotel..very grand..room was lovely but for some reason was an ajoining room which made it so we could hear next door..even down to there early morning call!!! which was annoying...
leisure facilities where clean and relaxing...food was lovely, very enjoyable stay!!!

Room Tip: make sure you ask for your room not to be a ajoining one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShrewsburyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The spa and hotel were reccomended to me by a few people .. We arrived at the spa at 11..only to find that there were no robes for us as they were in our hotel rooms ..we couldn't check in to our room until 3. The spa manager was very good and accommodated us by getting them for us . We were expecting a bit more of a luxurious area .. Nice loungers round the pool but all there was were cheap white garden centre loungers... The steam room is well used .. A swell as the changing area. There was no facility for coffee or refreshments without getting fully dressed and going to the courtyard bar.couldnt fault the food or service in the bar .. But was disappointed with the quality of coffee used. The four of us were given treatments in the same room .. Wernt given a choice .. The hotel rooms and staff were very good ... Food at night was outstanding .. Same for breakfast the following morning .. Superb choice on the buffet ... But was let down with the coffee. Found the hotel and spa cold ... Stunning building and views.food quite expensive at lunch.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just 2 nights but would have happily stayed longer.
Good value, amenities and friendly service.
Dining room for the more expensive dinners, otherwise the bar meals are good value.
A good centre for walking and seeing local towns.

Room Tip: Ask at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTravellerSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in october 12. Check in was quick and the staff very friendly. It was abit of a hike to the room lucky we only had hand luggage as only stayed 1 night. Room was nice and clean. It was on the dark side. The bathroom was brighter. Breakfast was ok thought it would of been abit better with it being a 4 star hotel. It was buffet style but think the food could have been a little more stocked up. Help yourself to tea and toast also which i was surprised to see. The hotel grounds are lovely and peaceful with it being a golf course. So was lovely for a peaceful sleep. Overall i would say the hotel was nice but i did expect a little more

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsEloveshols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,615 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
241 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
14.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range: $75 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing