We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hollin Hall Hotel(Macclesfield)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Legh Arms(Prestbury)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mottram Hall(Mottram St. Andrew)
$129
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deanwater Hotel(Stockport)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chadwick House Hotel(Macclesfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (2,989)
    Filter reviews
    2,989 results
    Traveler rating
    937
    898
    638
    320
    196
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    937
    898
    638
    320
    196
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgolf coursecourtyard barafternoon teaold churchevening mealjacuzzi bathpeak districtdeluxe roomleisure facilitiesself serviceleisure clubthree course meallovely settinggolf breaknight breakbirthday treatshort break
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2,810 - 2,815 of 2,989 reviews
    Reviewed October 18, 2012

    My wife and I stayed for one night. 13 Oct 2012 for a friends wedding reception. (Monique & Len). We stayed in room 110 which is just lovely. Four poster bed. Double sash windows affording the most superb views over the rolling Cheshire plains.

    The staff were, without exception, friendly, helpful and knowledgable.

    To be fair to people going here - we paid a little extra for a room at the front of the hotel in the original building so can't comment on other rooms in the additional blocks to the rear.

    I'd rather pay that little bit more and get a really nice experience - which is exactly what we got.

    The only comment I could have is a question on the price of bottles of champagne.

    We were offered perfectly acceptable bottles at approx £30-£35. I was shocked that Mumms was quoted at £100? I can get Dom / Cristal at that price.


    All in all -fantastic location, great staff, good value. Loved it.

    Thanks

    Mark and Ali.

    Room Tip: Room 110 / 112. Any room in the front overlooking the views. 1st floor was great.
    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank scoobyACZ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    ShrigleyGolfGM, General Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

    Mark

    Thank you for your "wonderful" review.

    I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

    Kindest Regards
    Stuart

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 18, 2012

    Recently stayed and had a lovely experience. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the leisure centre was nice. The food was excellent from afternoon tea to dinner and breakfast. Would definitely recommend it .

    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Phil H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    ShrigleyGolfGM, General Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

    Thank you very much for your kind review.

    I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the team.

    Kind Regards
    Stuart

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 18, 2012

    We stayed two nights in August to attend a family wedding. Our room was very spacious and overlooked the fabulous golf greens and wooded valley. However the upgraded room we were given only had a double bed, although this was a four poster and was very comfortable. The breakfast food was good and the staff were very pleasant.However, I do think that the room rates are extremely high for the level of furnishings and amenities within the rooms. Having booked well in advance of the wedding we discovered on speaking to other guests that rates were not consistent and others had paid a great variety of charges.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Traveller60England
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    ShrigleyGolfGM, General Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

    Thank you very much for your review.

    I am delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

    As our rates are not fixed we do offer a variety of offers depending on when booked and on what package and what availability we have.

    I do hope you will visit us again.

    Kind Regards
    Stuart

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 16, 2012

    Recently stayed overnight to attend a wedding reception. From arrival to departure, my partner and I experienced great service from the staff who were very welcoming and attentive. Our room was, as described on the website. We did, however, discover that the toilet flush handle was not working properly. Literally, within minutes of reporting it to reception, we were upgraded to another room. It was fantastic? We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I have stayed at the hotel several times and can honestly say the service far exceeded previous occasions, and the breakfast was great, such a fantastic choice! Definitely will go back.

    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Suzanne C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    ShrigleyGolfGM, General Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

    Suzanne

    Thank you very much for your positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.

    Thanks
    Stuart

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 14, 2012

    Stayed for a wedding and whilst the wedding was fantastic and food great the rest was really disappointing.
    We had two rooms ours was ok but bathroom grimy, windows mouldy and roof we looked out over damp and smelly. We arrived to the room being heated to thirty degrees....really who has a room that hot. Floorboards very squeaky been in very old hotels before never suffered such a noise from floor boards.
    Our daughter and her two year old in other room, clearly they choose the best place for a mum and child, third floor with lifts not going all the way, as far as possible from wedding and reception and reception unable to give clear directions. On arrival to her room she found it alive with Blu bottles, reception were told, thy said they would sort, they did! By spraying fly killer in, she returned after the wedding to find floor and beds covered in bluebottles .....lovely. Especially with a child.
    Considering this has been a hotel a while it s strange that they were surprised people would want food at breakfast and ran out of eggs (twice), hash browns and bacon so lots of waiting for more to be prepared, very badly organised
    Will not stay again and would not recommend.

    Stayed: October 2012
    3  Thank Cath M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    ShrigleyGolfGM, General Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

    I am very sorry that your stay was not up to our usual standard.

    I will look into all of your comments and take action where necessary to improve our standards.

    Kind Regards
    Stuart

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews