We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Champps Americana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Champps Americana
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Prior Lake, MN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were sat at the tiniest table in the bar and people were walking by bumping into us as we ate. We said it would be OK to sit in the bar, we just didn't expect it to be in the aisle.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank donandlisapampuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Decent Sports Bar, Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had lunch with my son for his birthday. He ordered the chicken tenders appetizer, which arrived with six large white meat strips and dipping sauce. The strips looked like they were breast tenderloins, and if combined together, would equal approximately 2.5 to 3 chicken breasts. So this appetizer seems like a fairly good value for $9.99.

I ordered the Philly beef sandwich. This is a cheese steak on a hoagie with onions, green peppers and mushrooms. You have a choice of either American or provolone cheese and several side choices. I chose the provolone with a coleslaw side. After taking the first bite, I asked the server for a side of au jus. The sandwich was somewhat dry and didn't have much flavor, so the au jus helped with both issues. The coleslaw was fresh and flavorful.

Our server was very attentive and helpful.

They also offer a small condiment bar where you can build your own Bloody Mary drinks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great food selection and good service. Although I wouldn't suggest the Asian meatballs they were cold and bland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kdahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was so impressed with all of the staff that were working Sunday morning. The teamwork was amazing, the food was good, and the Bloody Mary bar was awesome. We were able to watch any football game we wanted. I have never been to a restaurant where I felt like everyone liked working on Sunday. The host, our server, the general manager, and other employees were helping run food, clear tables, and help each other out. Nice job!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdebe32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a Wednesday. Half price bottles of wine so bought a bottle of Barefoot Merlot for less than 2 glasses would have been. Took half of it home. Ate the shrimp fajitas, special that night for $9.99. One order plenty for the two of us. Arrived hot, sizzling, and very tasty. Friendly, attentive waitstaff. The gaggle of girls at the reception desk seemed a bit unprofessional. All in all a good experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilredlakemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champps Americana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing